We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - where your wishes are granted!”
Review of Eikendal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eikendal Lodge
Ranked #6 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Leonie and her staff are a breath of fresh air! There is simply no limit to the extent of their hospitality. Their friendliness and charm are refreshing and welcoming and I will be going there again - any future trips to South Africa will be incomplete without staying there for a few nights to recharge.

I had a busy month booked in SA visiting family and trying to give my boys a taste of South Africa as it was their first visit. In between all of this we were looking forward to recharging at Eikendal - and we did nothing less! Despite the 30 degrees on a daily basis - the nice airconditioned rooms were bliss, with the most beautiful scenery to go with it.

We were given tips on where to go for the kids that would suit us too (maps even printed off for us) and one night when I wanted to eat in after buying my own ingredients - we were given everything to do so - including full use of the kitchen!!

We stayed in a Junior Suite this time - which is worth the extra money for such a lovely sized place.

The beds are FANTASTIC! perfectly soft and massive (I know I've mentioned this before - but its so important on holiday when you have the best bed in the world at home!)

The beauty of Stellenbosch coupled with the hospitality of the charming Leonie and the gorgeous accommodation is just a recipe for perfect relaxation!

If you are looking for somewhere to go that encompasses everything beautiful and charming about the winelands then Eikendal is the place for you - young or old, its just perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank My_Beautiful_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2008

I found this Lodge through the sa-venues.com website. It is a beautiful quiet, well-located place in its own substantial vineyard with excellent wines, which are so reasonable it is embarrassing. The place is well run by Leonie and Maggie, serving good breakfasts, and there is a nearby restaurant on the estate. They also recommended another restaurant (96 Winery Road) for the Monday night it was closed. It has a modest (unheated) swimming pool. We had booked as a group, needing 4 rooms, which they accomodated. It is popular with Scandinavians, and with Germans and Swiss ( it is owned by a Swiss chap).

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim0thyp00le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Voor die paar rand meer heb je een heerlijke suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hvandevoorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andreas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidzgraggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E6520QZclaudiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,910 reviews
5.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
638 reviews
8.9 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
239 reviews
5.5 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#3 of 113 in Stellenbosch
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eikendal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eikendal Lodge

Address: Eikendal Vineyards | R44, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £97 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eikendal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an authentic Cape Winelands experience, blended with superior wines and true hospitality! Eikendal Lodge is uniquely situated amidst prized vineyards and a working winery near Stellenbosch. The property also offers a wide range of activities, from grape picking to a fly fishing clinic with experienced professionals. Our philosophy is focused around the personal preferences of our guests with each visit specially tailored to ensure a flexible Winelands experience. We strive in making every stay a memorable one with exceptional yet unpretentious, personalised service and a homely atmosphere, giving each guest a sense of ownership. Eikendal Lodge offers an idyllic Winelands retreat, and comprise of nine spacious, en-suite bedrooms. Each room has a private terrace opening directly onto amazing, panoramic views of the Helderberg Mountain, our beautiful garden and lusciuos vineyards of Eikendal. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Each room is individually decorated and appointed with air-conditioning, satellite television, direct telephone, safe, fridge, and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eikendal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing