We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're not worthy!”
Review of Tokara Restaurant

Tokara Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 252 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$22
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Leading contemporary South African restaurant located atop of the picturesque Helshoogte Pass outside Stellenbosch, included on the 2014 Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice SA Fine Dining Top 10 list.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We're not worthy!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Richard Carstens is genius. From the early days at Lynton Hall down the South Coast of KZN to today it's amazing to see the how much he continues to grow. It's been two years in a row that my wife and I go for our wedding anniversary. You just can't go wrong! The spectacular views just complete the entire experience. Word of warning though...try book into a B&B nearby after quaffing their great Cabernets!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    249
    87
    40
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NE US
Level Contributor
565 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Nice lunch spot with a great view”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife had an excellent cauliflower soup, but I was disappointed in my appetizer. It was crisp line fish- just four little strips of fried fish and some other little things on the plate: pretty stingy portion particularly when compared to my wife’s huge bowl of delicious soup. I also made a bad main choice of roasted duck. I was expected it to be crispy but it was kind of boring. Upon reviewing the menu it did not say crispy so that was my fault. My wife fared much better with her springbok. The view was great, but service was inattentive and the place was expensive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Enjoyed a great dinner with a view of Falsbay and Cape Town in the background. Excellent wine selection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohanFourie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Saw review in Travel and Leisure and booked a month ahead. Ask for window seating to enjoy the gorgeous view of Stellenbosch. The artwork and design of the restaurant are stunning. Beautiful location. We were served by Ean who was knowledgeable on both wines and foods. Highly recommended and incredibly reasonable priced for the food and experience. Highly recommended. What a wonderful evening!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julieann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central America
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OMG! This restaurant is excellent!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Tokara not only has great wine, but also a great restaurant. We liked it so much that we went back there two days later. The baked alaska special is superb! A mix of textures and temperatures that will blow your mind. The beef is absolutely delicious and the special dessert with sesame cake is to die for. Also, if you are in doubt about how to pair your food with wine, the staff is great in suggesting options. On top of that, the view of the restaurant is great! Make sure you get a table by the glass wall. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank aff2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tokara Restaurant also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Tokara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing