We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went for the Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tokara Restaurant

Tokara Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 248 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$22
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Leading contemporary South African restaurant located atop of the picturesque Helshoogte Pass outside Stellenbosch, included on the 2014 Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice SA Fine Dining Top 10 list.
Falsterbo, Skåne County, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Went for the Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

So we went for the wines, which are btw excellent but were really hooked by their fantastic assortment of olive oils!!!! So went back in the evening for a very good meal indeed!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    242
    83
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always nice to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have visited Tokara a number of times. Mostly just to buy their olive oil, drink a good cappuccino and enjoy the atmosphere of the place. The huge fire place makes a real statement in the restaurant.
This time we stayed for lunch as well, which was excellent.
If you just visit for their Deli alone, you will definitely not leave without buying something nice to eat or a bottle of their fantastic olive oil.
We will visit again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank marwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Looking for the right heading for this review is tough, as so many words spring to mind... fantastic, mind-blowing, superb. These guys are genius and inspiring when it comes to food. The push the envelope every time...and keep on wowing and surprising us.

I love the immaculate kitchen that can be viewed through the glass window, the twinkling lights of Stellenbosch below and the high ceilings that give an incredible sense of space.

The menu is full of interesting and unexpected combinations, as good to look at as to taste.

The Broccoli and gruyere custard is a dream to eat and the gorgonzola ice cream, beets and honeycomb is nothing I ever expected to see on a plate together...but it works.

Thank you for a fantastic evening, great service and definitely some of the best food in South Africa. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“FOOD "TO DIE FOR"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The venue is beautiful. We sat outside on the stoep and it overlooked the vines and Table Mountain in the background. The menu is wonderful. The chef is the most creative I have ever seen. Typical French cuisine. I just loved the beauty of the place. Wine tasting around the huge fire also look very popular and very cosy. A must on the wine route. We ate at the main restaurant but popped into the Deli which is also part of Tokara. It also looked fantastic there, but a little bit more casual. Very "kids friendly" with swings etc.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classy superb dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The most Spectacular view over the vines and Cape Town right to Table mountain. Service was faultless and the meal was one of the best I have had in a long time. Worth the visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tokara Restaurant also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Tokara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing