We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but a little old fashioned” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onze Rust Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Onze Rust Guesthouse
Ranked #59 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
luxembourg
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“OK but a little old fashioned”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

Having stayed at some great B&Bs from Cape Town to the Game Reserves, we booked Onze Rust more as the "closest stop to the airport" than for any other reason as we had an early flight planned.
It is a little way out of Stellenbosch and had quite an old fashined feel.
Ok for one night but i suspect there are better places closer to the centre.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    31
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
35
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

We used the venue for a day session for post graduate students. Everything, the service, the surrounds..was just perfect

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vandersb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

Thank you for a friendly reception.
The environment is relaxing, with the water, big garden and birds.
Feels like fram, but within ciy's reach.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDRVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

Ester provided good insights and was valuable as a speaker on that day. It was added value to our presentation to have an expert like her at our disposal.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacoCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

Our weekend at Onze Rust was absolutely magical. We had a room with fantastic views of the dam and the most comfortable kings size bed you have ever slept on. The owner was charming and extremely accomodating without impinging on our space.

The bird life on the property is extensive and we spent a lovely Saturday afternoon under the willows at the dam just taking in the incredible atmosphere. This property is situated right in the middle of the Stellenbosch wine farms which makes it rather unique. it boasts an absolutely stunning garden with rolling lawns and prolific plants life. There is a very special light on this property which gives it an almost magical atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zacki25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Onze Rust on first view provides one of the secrets of the Western Cape. Just outside of Stellenbosch and with easy access to the town itself, this hideaway is the ideal venue for the stressed business traveler or romantic weekend. With the offer of wine tasting and gourmet food at your doorstep the guesthouse could not be better situated. To awake in the middle of an environmental oasis to the sound of the fish eagle or just sit at the dam observing the weavers at work is all that is needed to put one’s mind at ease.

Breakfast is unsurpassed in both quality and quantity and can be enjoyed overlooking the dam from the balcony of the Country house. A night spent in the eighteenth century Victorian house is a night that will never be forgotten, with period furnishings and a feel to match. The warmth and combined local knowledge of the owner Ester Bezuidenhout is unmatchable and consistent with true Cape hospitality. All in all I would recommend a stay at Onze Rust as an absolute priority whether staying in the Winelands or the Western Cape in general.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilsjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
6.0 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#30 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
6.2 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#9 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hoopenburg Guest House
Hoopenburg Guest House
#35 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
9.0 mi away
Rozendal Guest Farm
Rozendal Guest Farm
#16 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
12.7 mi away
Lumley's Place
Lumley's Place
#1 of 1 in Pniel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onze Rust Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onze Rust Guesthouse

Property: Onze Rust Guesthouse
Address: Vlaeberg Rd | Between M12 polkadraai and Baden Powell R310, Vlottenburg, Stellenbosch 7603, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Onze Rust Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Onze Rust Guest House in the heart of the Stellenbsoch wine lands offers a unique nature setting. It is the perfect farm setting for you to relax and restore your inspiration. Gardens stretch over two hectares lawns, lots of trees, water and many birds. We are 25 minutes from Cape Town International Airport, a few minutes out of Stellenbosch town centre close to Spier Wine Estate. We can accommodate 24 people in 10 en-suite rooms, with extra-length beds and private entrances on to spacious verandas, free wi-fi and parking. There are 2 family units where kids can share and we offer information on the many things to do in Stellenbosch,and referrals to the good restaurants close by. Several rooms have King size extra length beds, we offer sufficient coffee and fresh milk in rooms, wide range of TV channels. Business travelers and Stellenbosch University visitors are close to the Cape Town international Airport. Our central location makes it suitable to visit Stellenbosch, Belville, Somerset West/Strand, and Saxonburg Business parks. For Capetonians attending day conferences on site, it is only 40km drive mostly against the morning peak hour traffic. We offer good food for functions, with flexible menus (e.g. "banting" functions with great feedback). For the romantics it is a perfect setting with honeymoon rooms, and weddings get nature photo opportunities. As a social enterprise we support community organizations with partial sposnsorships and vouchers for fundraising. Beauty, peace and comfort in the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Onze Rust Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing