We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WedgeView Country House & Spa
Ranked #15 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My family and I stayed at the Wedgeview for the first 3 nights of our first ever trip to South Africa a week or so before Christmas (2013).We had made our booking based on its proximity to Stellenbosch and all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor.
We weren't disappointed. It was a beautiful place to stay - its well-manicured grounds stunningly covered in vibrant flowers with exquisite views, a small lake and a lovely outdoor pool.
We stayed in one of the new, interconnecting, family units - in fact we were the first to use it. It was well-arranged, very spacious and perfect for our needs, with a small kitchen, 2 lovely rooms and 2 huge bathrooms. The only slight downside was that there were some building works going on just outside our room at the time, but these didn't cause any particular disturbance and I would imagine may well have finished by now.
The breakfasts were very good and the evening meal we had one night was of an exceptionally high standard. The Chef is obviously a very talented young lady and also extremely personable and helpful, paying particular attention to ensuring that nut and seed-free options were offered to our two children who have allergies to these foods.
We would not hesitate to recommend the Wedgeview to families or couples and hope to have the opportunity to stay there again ourselves on a future visit to this beautiful area.

Room Tip: The new, interconnecting family suite was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    78
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
286
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Wedgeview is simply stunning! The attention to detail and service are excellent. The onsite spa is a must if you have time. It is situated about a 10 minute drive from the centre of Stellenbosch, but there is an on site driver to take you and collect you if you don't want to drive (at a charge). We were in the new part of the house and our room was fabulous. Breakfast out in the garden was very good, a choice of fresh fruits, pastries and anything you would like cooked! We highly recommend this stylish guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at Wedgeview only 1 night but I know we will want to return for a much longer stay. We were on a long trip and could afford to spend only 1 night in Stellenbosch and chose Wedgeview.

The location is nice, the layout of the property is great and the rooms are splendid. Breakfast was wonderful too and the service was good as well. The rooms are so well laid out and even the bathrooms are super.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed for one night on our way along the Garden Route. Could not fault anything during our stay, so can't understand negative reviews. Very well looked after by helpful and courteous staff and would highly recommend. The breakfast was perfect, made all the better by the company of the two resident ducks. Will hopefully be back and for longer next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 - total perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Wedgeview is our latest and best discovery of th Western Cape. Great hospitality from the moment we arrived till our departure. We enjoyed the lovely garden and the pool so much, that we didn't want to leave the premises for daytrips.
Special mention for the breakfast. It was the best ever.. Great job Dave & Anouk and your excellent team! We will be back.
Emily

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We just stayed 4 days at this fantastic guesthouse. The rooms are comfortable and have pretty much everything you can ask for. The look of the rooms is a little classic, but it fits the scenery. The view is amazing and especially from the rooms in front of the building you step right into the nice garden. Staff is very friendly & Helpfull and I can recommend this to anyone going to Stellenbosch.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ArdieVanBeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

what's good about this place:
-friendly staff, trying their best
-great rooms with great bathrooms, airco and everything you need
-we ate very well in the restaurant in the evening
what's not so good:
-inexperienced staff; we heard the owners were not present which seemed strange in high season; place needs more supervision of the young and inexperienced staff
-several small hickups that should not happen; e.g. no toilet paper and hand towels on several occasions in the restaurant toilet; not toilet paper in the pool toilet; dirty towels hanging around at the pool and not being taken away; infrequent drinks service at the pool; pool table present was in terrible condition and only queue usable; get your act together; five star is all in the detail!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
2.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
5.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
5.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Property: WedgeView Country House & Spa
Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing