We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5th visit to a wonderful country retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WedgeView Country House & Spa
Ranked #14 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 5th visit to a wonderful country retreat”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This was our 1st visit since a change in ownership and once again it was a wonderful experience.
As two couples,we stayed in the newly built suite that was detached from the main building. It was very luxurious, especially the master bedroom with en suite bathroom, and there was also a lounge and kitchen area.
We ate in 3 times during our 9 nights stay and the food cooked by chef was very good indeed especially the night we had fresh crayfish which was excellent. For breakfast there was a choice of full English or an abundance of fresh fruit, yogurt, breads etc, again very high quality food served in the garden area on beautiful sunny mornings.
The young staff, some of whom were interns from Holland studying hotel management, couldn't do enough for us and made our stay even more enjoyable.
The other facilities were 1st class ie the bar, outdoor pool, loungers, health spa for massages, beauty treatments etc.
The thatched hotel has beautiful gardens with mango, orange and pomegranate trees in abundance.
This was 5 star luxury at affordable prices and we cannot wait to make a return visit later in the year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    78
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
117
290
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is surrounded by vineyards and is back from the road. It has large grounds set out with loads of flowers, shrubs & trees and areas to sit in around a couple of swimming pools.
Food is not served every night - a shame given the high quality cuisine on offer when dinner is available - but breakfasts are real treats and a combination of a comprehensive continental selection plus a cooked option (do try the fired eggs on toast covered with cheese - scrummy!) sets you up for the day.
An alternative choice for lunch/supper is the cold platter - a cold meats, cheeses and bread selection - which goes well with a bottle of their reasonably priced wines.
Staff were young and keen to please.
Did we enjoy the hotel? Well, we've put our names down for 2015.......what better recommendation than that, fellow traveller?

Room Tip: Best rooms are the upper ones overlooking the front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodieslocksheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nice guest house which has been recently extended. Rooms are nice and so are the grounds. Staff were helpful and attentive. My only minor complaint was the noise from the gravel car park which sits between the buildings as you can clearly hear cars manouvering around for car parking late in the night and very early in the morning as staff arive. Enjoyed our stay though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveBakker, Owner at WedgeView Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Derek,
Thank you for your review. We are obviously very happy with your positive feedback. We take note of your minor complaint of the noise from the gravel car park. We will look into this, to see what we can do to improve this.
We hope to see you again at WedgeView.
Thanks and kind regards,
Dave & The WedgeView Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My family and I stayed at the Wedgeview for the first 3 nights of our first ever trip to South Africa a week or so before Christmas (2013).We had made our booking based on its proximity to Stellenbosch and all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor.
We weren't disappointed. It was a beautiful place to stay - its well-manicured grounds stunningly covered in vibrant flowers with exquisite views, a small lake and a lovely outdoor pool.
We stayed in one of the new, interconnecting, family units - in fact we were the first to use it. It was well-arranged, very spacious and perfect for our needs, with a small kitchen, 2 lovely rooms and 2 huge bathrooms. The only slight downside was that there were some building works going on just outside our room at the time, but these didn't cause any particular disturbance and I would imagine may well have finished by now.
The breakfasts were very good and the evening meal we had one night was of an exceptionally high standard. The Chef is obviously a very talented young lady and also extremely personable and helpful, paying particular attention to ensuring that nut and seed-free options were offered to our two children who have allergies to these foods.
We would not hesitate to recommend the Wedgeview to families or couples and hope to have the opportunity to stay there again ourselves on a future visit to this beautiful area.

Room Tip: The new, interconnecting family suite was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Wedgeview is simply stunning! The attention to detail and service are excellent. The onsite spa is a must if you have time. It is situated about a 10 minute drive from the centre of Stellenbosch, but there is an on site driver to take you and collect you if you don't want to drive (at a charge). We were in the new part of the house and our room was fabulous. Breakfast out in the garden was very good, a choice of fresh fruits, pastries and anything you would like cooked! We highly recommend this stylish guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
386 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at Wedgeview only 1 night but I know we will want to return for a much longer stay. We were on a long trip and could afford to spend only 1 night in Stellenbosch and chose Wedgeview.

The location is nice, the layout of the property is great and the rooms are splendid. Breakfast was wonderful too and the service was good as well. The rooms are so well laid out and even the bathrooms are super.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed for one night on our way along the Garden Route. Could not fault anything during our stay, so can't understand negative reviews. Very well looked after by helpful and courteous staff and would highly recommend. The breakfast was perfect, made all the better by the company of the two resident ducks. Will hopefully be back and for longer next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 - total perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
581 reviews
2.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
5.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Property: WedgeView Country House & Spa
Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing