We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WedgeView Country House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Last month we stayed at Wedgeview for 2 nights. I can recommend this to anyone! The accommodation itself is very comfortable and got lots of good facilities. Just walk around and you will see that they really got attention for detail. Great service and a relaxed atmosphere. It's a perfect location to explore the winelands. Super Dave! Regards, Kaj, Dees & Moos.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afrikaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for WedgeView Country House & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed 4 days ater the Test match. We had a deluxe room which was lovely and spacious. Bathroom had double sinks and showers and toiletries made from wine products. Some rooms have private balconies but ours didn't - guess you have to ask for those? Great welcome with drinks in the lovely garden. Recommend the braai - gave us an opportunity to meet other guests. Whole place has a very relaxed peaceful feeling. Spa treatments very good and professionally administered. All staff unfailingly helpful and polite and recommended some great places to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madetotravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

This hotel is in a great location, with excellent customer service!

We live in the area and made a special request to Wedgeview that we could start my husband 40th birthday celebrations by having our spa treatments beyond the normal closing time of their spa. These arrangements were made for us at very short notice, and really made our evening a very special one. My husband enjoyed a "on-the-house" glass of good Cape Red while waiting for my last treatment to finish. So the staff really went the extra mile.

We have thoroughly enjoyed our spa treatments and the visit to Wedgeview, as well as the dinner afterwards at the Big Easy restaurant in Stellenbosch, which was also recommended to me by Dave, the owner of Wedgeview.

Many thanks to Wedgeview for a wonderful occasion and the special service - it is customer service like this that will keep customers coming back. We will definitely recommend Wedgeview to everyone we know!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tienton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Wedge view is easy to find, feels save, just a few minutes from Stellenbosch via accessible road. The staff and owners are friendly and very helpfull (just ask and they manage it) the rooms we had were very nice and comfortable. The surroundings are stunning (as everything in Stellenbosch), a day at the pool in the garden is very relaxing. The 'Braai" was cosy and delicious. Breakfast is standard but carefully prepared and taken care off by the staff. SO Wedgeview is recommended to anyone who takes Stellenbosch as basis to see the West Cape. Cape Town, Franschhoek etc all within 20 minutes drive. Saskia and Robbert

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eindhovenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We stayed in the WedgeView for 12 days and had wonderful vacation! The Wedgeview is excellently situated for all sorts of trips like to the jaguar, lions or raptor farms, one of the many wineries, Capetown or Hermanus for whale watching. Closer by, there is the lovely village of Stellenbosch. After each trip, coming back at the lodge felt like coming home. We also spent a few days alongside of the pool at the lodge and could relax and take our rest too.
Hospitality was great, the staff was extremely helpful, rooms were excellent, we loved it!
So, if you don’t want to drag your family around through the country, but still want to see a great lot of things, we definitely recommend the Wedgeview!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZAfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Wedge View Country House & Spa was one of the best choices we made when we went to South Africa! We went in the Winter (July) and the experience was terrific - Yves and his staff made us feel like we were at home. Beyond a simple place to stay we could feel like we were with our family around. Special dinners, selected wines to drink, a piano to play in the central room are some of the characteristics that made we feel like that.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrochavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Four years ago, we stayed in this Country house and were so impressed by thelovely location, very high standards of the rooms, facilities and excellent meals. So much so that we promised ourseleves to stay there again on our next rtip to South Africa.
Unfortunately the ownership of Wedgeview had changed. The rooms are still excellent but the quality of the service and meals was a major disappointment. The tables in the dining room were not cleared, leaving us to have to look for someone to clear away dirty plates etc; so that we could sit down. The quality of the meal was poor. Sausages were undercooked (red inside); almost raw and very fatty bacon with little meat;; scrambled eggs that looked and tasted like a paste; buffet items such as cheese was a limited choice of two with the plate left uncovered, (no flynet etc). All the work of clearing tables, taking order, serving being left in the hands of a young and very willing Dutch trainee trying to do the best he could.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,875 reviews
5.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
624 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
623 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#17 of 113 in Stellenbosch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £72 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing