We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WedgeView Country House & Spa
Ranked #22 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Our 3-night stay in Wedgeview's 'Schalmei' executive suite was a comfortable and relaxing end to our recent trip to the Western Cape. The room is newly refurbished and has a large, luxurious bathroom (comprising no less than 5 shower-heads!) Wedgeview is in a beautiful location, surrounded by stunning scenery.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2010

When you arrive in this private probity, you will be surprised how beautiful it is.
The accommodation, his rooms, the pools, the Spa house, and the kitchen, is really an fantastic experience. You can enjoy from his silence and the view of his wine fields.

I was here for cycling, with the Dutch national track team, for an 3weeks training stage. I really enjoyed the hospitality from the owners Dave & Anouk and there crew. They have make this place to a real palace, it’s just brilliant. When I come over again, I really come back to Wedgeview.

Thanks to all,
Geert-Jan Jonkman
www.geertjanjonkman.nl

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broccolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

The WedgeView is a beautiful place in the winelands just outside of Stellenbosch and as such is extremely conveniently located near everything you could want to do in the region.
The building has a cape Dutch style and the rooms are spacious and well furbish and the grounds with the 2 pools and a nice pond are nicely shaped and offer, due to its size, a lot a privacy if wanted.
The staff was very accommodating to all of our needs.
The breakfast served at the pond was very tasty. We didn’t have dinner, so cannot comment on that, may be next time……

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying_Dutchman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed there for 3 nights and it is a valuable memory of a “paradise-like” place, far away from the frenetic noise of the cities, surrounded by stunning views of the wine lands unfolding in front of the majestic mountains.
This experience of complete immersion in relaxation, beauty and comfort is happily complemented by the hosts and staff’s hospitality and friendliness.
The peaceful, carefully maintained property with an old-world charm was a great choice for a wonderful end of our holiday in South Africa.

Mona & Jon from Norway

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This hotel is in a great location, with excellent customer service!

We have thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Wedgeview and all the different SPA treatments. Wedgview is also perfectly located for visiting all the different nice spots around Stellenbosch and Cape Town. We stayed with the whole family for 12 nights in this great place.

Many thanks to Wedgeview for the wonderful stay we had, the special service and the great team. Special thank's also go to the commited SPA team. They did a great job in getting our stiffed muscles back to relaxation.

There are two things I would improve to even more increase the good experience: 1. Improve the bumpy road to drive to Wedgeview. 2. Offer higher speed on the Internet with unlimited volume. The rest was perfect

Thank's to Dave, his family and his team

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgrueter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Last month we stayed at Wedgeview for 2 nights. I can recommend this to anyone! The accommodation itself is very comfortable and got lots of good facilities. Just walk around and you will see that they really got attention for detail. Great service and a relaxed atmosphere. It's a perfect location to explore the winelands. Super Dave! Regards, Kaj, Dees & Moos.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afrikaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed 4 days ater the Test match. We had a deluxe room which was lovely and spacious. Bathroom had double sinks and showers and toiletries made from wine products. Some rooms have private balconies but ours didn't - guess you have to ask for those? Great welcome with drinks in the lovely garden. Recommend the braai - gave us an opportunity to meet other guests. Whole place has a very relaxed peaceful feeling. Spa treatments very good and professionally administered. All staff unfailingly helpful and polite and recommended some great places to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madetotravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,068 reviews
5.6 mi away
Eikendal Lodge
Eikendal Lodge
#2 of 116 in Stellenbosch
326 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#3 of 116 in Stellenbosch
285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jordan Luxury Suites
Jordan Luxury Suites
#8 of 116 in Stellenbosch
179 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#17 of 116 in Stellenbosch
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £102 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing