We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A excellent place to stay, with a great view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WedgeView Country House & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
WedgeView Country House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A excellent place to stay, with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed in WedgeView for two nights and we love it! The view over the Vineyards and the mountains are realy fantastic! Dave's welcome's us with a good glas of wine and a nice conversation. He proudly showed us the wonderful Country House. In the evening we had a delicious diner. Large rooms with brand new bathrooms. Dave give us very good information about visiting some Vineyards and other great places. We certainly go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martienvanleeuwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    78
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
283
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Wedgeview.
What a lovely place in South Africa!

Very beautiful view, mountains, lovely winelands
and very close to the center of Stellenbosch.

The rooms are great! (we stayed in a room calles 'Schalmei'
which is just renovated)
Nicely furnished and very luxury!

We did also like te service and the kind staff.
Sometimes (around 3 times a week I guess) they
also arrange diner.
We had diner and it tasted very good, with lovely wines and a nice atmosphere.

It's a very quiet and nice place in the Western Cape,
but also close to the centers of Stellenbosch, Paarl, Franschhoek and even Cape Town is only 45 minutes drive!

Best regards,
Jarno and Aukje
The Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtheplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We started our vacation in The wedgeview. Perfect distance from the airport and just in the middle of all the stellenbosch wineries and world class dining. The views and property and food are all you want on a holiday!Book the Spa package! the Spa is very very Nice .The hosts dave and Anouk Go the extra mile! Have a diner/ braai at the wedgeview.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed at Wedgeview for 3 nights at the start of our trip and returned for another night before flying back. We felt very welcome and our host made sure that all our wishes were catered for, including rental car bookings and tee times.
The accomodation was (re-) built recently, well furbished and equiped. Breakfast in the yard next to a pond was really cool. Left very little to be desired.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vrie1491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Me and my partner went for an awesome weekend in the heart of the vineyard to get engaged , the service was great , the views was awesome ,the food was magnificent and not to mention the spa treatment it was great and i felt like a new me. Wedgeview have a very high standard and thats GOOD !

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

It was a very warm welcome we received + we were shown around the hotel. They had a major fire in May + the property basically had to be rebuilt. It was a stunning thatched property in amongst vinyards but wasn't actually a vinyard, we found out when we checked in which was a bit of a disappointment.
We arrived quite late but could not get a meal as the restaurant wasn't open yet. However, they put together a delicious plate of ceese + cold meats which sufficed.
We found out that the room ahd a number of problems eg the air conditioning was quiet to start with then turned into something resembling a road drill, a number of sockets weren't working, the shower hadn't been sealed which leaked over the bathroom floor, making it very slippy etc. These points were raised and, even though it was Sunday they managed to fix them all, except the a/c but it was fairly cool anyway.
Breakfast was delicious.
Wineland tour with Keith (Redwood tours) was very good.
When we checked out they reduced the bill due to the problems in the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhairii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

It is not a hotel nor a B&B but a guesthouse with class. That is what we liked about the place. If you would like to relax on your on your own, you can. And if you want some mingling with other guests or the owner, that is certainly possible too. The place is run by a young Dutch friendly couple (Dave & Anouk) who have passion for their accommodation and the Stellenbosch region. Make sure that Dave explains his tips and tricks for the best places in the region and take a Spa treatment. When we were there, some rebuilding and refurbishment was going on so I expect to the place to very nice by now.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dberkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
2.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Property: WedgeView Country House & Spa
Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing