We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it! - beautiful estate and amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I planned just 1 day to visit wine country during a whirlwind tour of S.Africa - we chose Asara based on others recommendations and the stunning photos of the grounds... We're so happy with our choice, it was a wonderful experience! From the second we arrived, we knew we were in good hands. The service is top notch: glass of wine at check in, followed by a tour of the grounds, restaurants, lounge, tasting room and market - all were spectacular.
It ended up being a rainy day, so we decided last minute to get a driver to tour the wineries - rather than risk driving in unknown territory with wet roads- Kalin, at the front desk booked us a driver within minutes and we were on our way 30 min later. so great! **Incidentally, the wine tour company was Go Tours (http://www.gotours.co.za)...loved them also!
After visiting a number of wineries, we decided to have dinner at Raphael's, which was a quick walk from our hotel room.. the food was to die for! Service was great and the decor was very hip...we felt like Alice in wonderland with all the big & funky furniture.
To top off our fabulous stay, when we returned from dinner, the staff had covered our bed and bathroom with rose petals and ran a warm bath...it was our honeymoon and they truly made us feel so special. I would LOVE to return if I'm lucky enough to book another trip across the world. To future travelers, enjoy it!! oh, and be sure to get some of their homemade nougat from the market! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pond & pool...views are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 718 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

We wanted to stay at a wine estate instead of in town and were completely happy with our choice! The estate was beautiful and our room was great. The staff was amazingly helpful, they definitely went above and beyond with anything we needed. The wine tasting room is great and has some very tasty tapas. Book here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristenD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

What a fantastic hotel. The staff were very helpful, friendly and went out of their way to meet our needs. We had a fantastic room, and what a beautiful view of the mountains, vineyards and lake!! Out of this world!! The restaurants are great with super staff and fantastic food.
Oh yes, we can highly recommend this hotel and we will be back!!
E & B

Room Tip: Book a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at Asara for one night only, to break up our time in Cape Town, and giving us time to visit Stellenbosch.

We had been at Spier estate for the day and got to Asara in the evening, immediately upon arrival, we knew we had made the right decision to stay here.

We pulled our 'humble' travel hire car into the doorway and walked into reception, we were offered a cool drink and our car was driven into the car park. Our check-in was quick and simple, and they treated us as 5-star travelers, despite my shorts and flip-flops.

The room was magnificent, if not the decor a little dated, with a huge bed, bathroom and beautiful view from the slightly chilly balcony! Facilities within the room were great, they even provided candles (which would have been used had I not only found them on our departure) and the products in the bathroom were luxurious.

We went to a local restaurant so cannot comment on the restaurants within the estate, but breakfast was a sight to behold. The view from breakfast was extraordinary, it was like being sat in a film, eating bacon and eggs. The waitress continued to top up our fresh orange juice, and gorgeous filter coffee, while we ate fresh baguettes with home-made jam. And had a platter of fine meats and cheeses brought to our table topping up our already full plate of fresh pineapple and melon.

What else can I say, we don't enjoy this kind of luxury at home, but for one night and morning, it was worth paying that bit extra. A wonderful time at Asara topped off our visit to South Africa, I'm just looking forward to tasting that bottle of wine I bought now, then I can add that to the review....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billyboychrisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My wife and I spent 2.5 days in the wine country around Stellenbosch, South Africa, staying at the Asara Wine Estate. This included (as expected) great food and wine, but also (unexpectedly) some very interesting bird life. Our room at the Asara overlooked a very small lake (or large pond) with an unbelievable variety of water birds for such a small body of water. I’m not a serious bird watcher, so I don’t know the exact names, but there were at least 6 different kinds, including beautiful black swans, cormorants, ibis, coots, plovers, and very colorful African geese, plus some other birds that were not waterfowl. These African geese are the only geese that I’ve ever seen actually perch in trees – and on roof tops. The Asara itself was wonderful and a fabulous deal at US$125/ night including taxes and breakfast, booked on the web. We were met at check-in with a glass of wine, and shown to our room, which was an upgraded (‘’deluxe’’), huge room with a large balcony. It had both a tub and a separate shower. The service was excellent, as was the food in both of the restaurants, the fancy Raphael and the informal Sansibar. The latter was a ‘’cigar bar’’, but the night we ate there, we were the only patrons, so we didn’t have any problem with smoke, and there was no residual smell. Guests can make unlimited use of the computer in the ‘’business center’’ (just an alcove off the hall with one PC, hard-wired for internet) for internet, provided no one else was using the single computer. (Apparently Facebook is blocked, which isn’t a bad idea in my opinion, since I suspect that otherwise some people would hog the computer.) Alternatively, you can buy a card for wifi in the room. The billing is by MB, rather than time, something I’ve never encountered before. I found that a 50 rand card (about US$7.50) would last me about an 1- 1.5 hours of web surfing with no big downloads – a bit expensive, but then again, this is really not a business hotel, so who needs to spend a lot of time on the internet? While touring around the area, we ate lunch at 2 winery restaurants recommended to us, and I heartily recommend both to all readers -- Zorgfliet and Haskell. This last winery – which bottles wine under the ‘’Dombaya’’ label – had what we thought was the best quality/ price ratio of any of the wineries we visited, especially their cabernet sauvignon and shiraz.

Room Tip: For a birds eye view, get a room close to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 2 nights and could not fault it in any way. The setting is magnificent and our room was perfectly positioned on the first floor with a wrap around veranda, perfect for sundowners, photography and quiet relaxation after a busy day. The food was exquisite in Raphael's restaurant and the breakfasts were superb, with vast choices to tantalise every taste. The piano playing at dinner was a fine touch and much enjoyed. The rooms was very spacious and luxurious, lacking in nothing and the bed was extremely comfortable. The outdoor furniture was well thought out to make our stay so much more perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We dined at Raphaels at Asara Wine Estate outside Stellebosch on the last night of our honeymoon in South Africa. We could not have asked for a more amazing night to end our honeymoon. The service, setting, food and music in the restaurant was second to none. Eventhough there was a big wedding next door, the staff still made every effort to make each guest in Raphales feel special and there was not disruption due to the wedding. The food and wine service was by the book and we sould recommend this restaurant to anybody looking for a fine dining experience in the heart of the Western Cape winelands.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelalot19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,063 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
417 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
637 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £127 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing