We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
“OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at the Asara Wine Estate Hotel October 23 - October 27, 2013 and the experience was wonderful. We were upgraded to a 3 floor suite which was the size of a condo. The walk- in closet, balcony, patio, 1 1/2 baths, and large expansive windows were wonderful. A complimentary bottle of wine already in the room along with chocolates which were made and sold on the premesis were welcomed treats. Each morning when we left to explore the area, cold bottles of water were available to take along. The front desk people were accommodating to all our requests. What we really enjoyed was the wonderful food which was prepared and served by social, pleasant staff. This hotel is a MUST in the Stellenbosch area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewart3714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    176
    56
    34
    33
See reviews for
94
534
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very large and comfortable rooms with great views on the mountains and vineyards. All personel are very polie an helpful professionals especially some waiters at Raphael's restaurant.The estate is maintained in an immaculate condition.A pleasure to stay and dine at this hotel. Feels very safe.We only wish we had booked a longer stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a better view.Large estate so ask for a room near the reception if you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Phoned ahead to make sure of table as Sunday is always difficult. Both had great steaks and the service was good . The place was perhaps a bit big for our taste as it was also a hotel so maybe more impersonal than we are used to. View was fabulous

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NessandDorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary with a weekend away at Asara. The personnel have been exceptionally friendly, attentive and efficient. From the security guard at the gate, to the reception. wine tasting room and restaurant.
Great attention to detail and being made to feel special contribute dto making our weekend a really wonderful and memorable one.
We especially enjoyed the breathtaking view from our room and the dining room where the delectable breakfast was served over the Helderberg, Stellenbosch and Hottentots Holland mountains.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the upstairs Classic Room allocated to us as it was quiet, but stil close to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Spent a week while on business in the area at this lovely hotel set in vineyards with superb mountain views. The hotel has all amenities ( excluding gym/spa) , great pool , very comfortable spacious rooms with all mod cons ,Very good breakfasts . Wifi pretty much throughout, Good friendly and professional staff where no problem is too difficult to solve. Great location for visiting this lovely area.
Only one issue was the bar-- which was very good with great staff , bar food and a good drinks offer ---but it is also a "cigar/smoking lounge" . With no smoking throughout the civilised world to find this in the only bar in the hotel was a tad annoying. The open terrace/veranda was fine when weather good. Hire car pretty much essential to enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with vineyard , pool and/or lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Asara looks great, but it seems to have been designed with way too much image in mind, at the expense of genuine comfort. It feels like an over ambitious designer was hell bent on winning the awards at any cost, but without any empathy for the comfort of the guests. Nice to look at, if you like that sort of thing, but not so nice to interact with. Staff were friendly, and competent. Breakfast was high on price, low on quality. Rooms are over designed, and functionally embarrasing. Will someone please pass a law against open plan toilets?

Room Tip: Unless the sounds and smells of your morning ablutions are "music to your partners ears"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner Brook, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at Asara for 2 nights at the end of our SA trip. The estate is absolutely breathtaking, the rooms were fabulous, the whiskey bar was awesome, but....the service was pitiful. Our reservations were made far in advance however our transfer from the airport which had previously been confirmed to us by hotel staff was not arranged and our reservations at the restaurant had not been made. When we went for dinner we were questioned and nearly turned away - meanwhile the restaurant was nearly empty. Service was slow, mistakes were made at every meal, and the food was bland. We would not return to Asara.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmurphy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,819 reviews
3.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
588 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Property: Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing