We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant- thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant- thank you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stopped at Asara to vissit the deli and wine tasting centre. The staff, all of them from the security guard to the barista/waiter/manager at the deli, were most welcomming, friendly and helpfull. Had a lovely lunch and especially enjoyed the coffee, as well as the barista's friendliness, professionalism and brilliant service - he is an asset! (I think his name started with a "C", but can't remember now).

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    168
    54
    34
    32
See reviews for
93
524
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Cheddar cheese used on the cheeseboard was of the lowest possible quality.
The service was substandard. The venue itself is beautiful...very large menu with very limited vegetarian options. My date had the mini burger selection which was pronounced excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We loved it at asara. From the welcoming faces. The wine tasting started fron the displayed soil types which show where the wines grapes are from which soil.then the tasting just blow you taste buds off. I feel in love with Cape infusion wine.is delicously rich yet full of flavour.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank idah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We were quite disappointed with the steak as it was of a poor quality and the blood was brown and meat was not cooked to request. I suspect it was frozen and then microwaved, but I'm not a chef. The venue on the other hand was lovely.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilhelm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nice location. The restaurant is really good. The property is beautiful.The staff took good care. They were very personal which made us feel really special.

They view from the restaurants was amazing,good food.

Room Tip: Please ask for the mountain facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adarsh713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We visited the Asara Estate for a Tour and Wine Tasting the Setting is Perfect.From the Professionally Manicured Estate to One off the Nicest Wine Tasting Rooms we've experienced in our Many Trips to the Region.Sampled many Great Wine's every tasting of a New Veridal was met with a Fresh Glass. First Class Service all the Way.Also Incredible Views of the Valley below and the Mountains.Must Stop.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Our recent stay at Asara was without doubt the highlight of a wonderful holiday in South Africa.
If you have reason to stay in Stellenbosch you really won't be disappointed if you choose Asara.

The moment we arrived, we were greeted with a glass of fine wine, our car was parked for us & our bags were wisked up to our excellently appointed courtyard room.

A sunset dinner on the restaurant terrace, by a lake overlooking the vineyard with the hills of Stellenbosch providing a stunning backdrop was purely magical.

Checkout was amazingly stress free, our car was ready with our bags loaded before I had even had a chance to ask reception for a bell boy to collect them!

First class customer service, well done Asara, I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful courtyard room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racingmacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
3.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
4.2 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Property: Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing