We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but not luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryneveld Country Lodge
Ranked #72 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Great value hotel. However, we were disappointed when we arrived mainly because of the cleverly taken website photos and blurb which suggest luxury when in fact it is a good basic hotel. Breakfast was great, lovely smoothies and freshly made omelettes. Location wise very close to the centre but you do feel on the student side of town rather than where other hotels are. We didn't notice any noise and we were travelling with a baby. In summary, great value place to stay but not the Victorian luxury suggested, but can't argue at the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fothers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

The worst exoerience I have ever had in a b&b. Their advertising is misleading!!!!ITS NOT 4star!!!mayve a 0star!!You must be very careful not to pay before they actually take you to your room, especially the cottages outside (I do not know what criteria do they use to determine whether u stay in the cottage or the house!!). The rooms in the cottage are dingy, they do not change your bedding. The rooms have ants...toilets are not properly sanitized. The noise from the people and the cars at 2am is unbearable. Their breakfast was equally bad!!!AWFUL experience!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhumiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We spent a night there on our way back from a safari in Inverdoom to Cape Town. The place was recommended in the South Africa guide book latest edition (DK Eyewitness travel) bougth in Melbourne. We reserve by the phone a room for 1100 R, when we arrive less than 2 hours later the room is for 1200 R. We didn't manage to turn the TV on, neither did we manage to open the available parking gate (with an electronic key) twice with a faulty key nor where we able to use the internet voucher.
We discover, whilst having breakfast, that the attendant cut off the TV because it was very windy ?
Rather a disapointing evening.

Room Tip: avoid room upstairs ( low level ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yves M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at Ryneveld lodge as we were attending a wedding at one of the vineyards.

Unfortunately we did not spend much time at the lodge, but managed to relax by the pool for a bit. Our breakfast was delicious and staff were very friendly and helpful! walking distance to the heart of Stellenbosch and about 5 minute drive to the vineyards.

The only very minor problem I had was the noise from the road traffic and the sensor light going on and off throughout the night. The pool could also do with some heating.

I highly recommend ryneveld lodge to everybody.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl92, Owner at Ryneveld Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for your kind review! We take great pride in getting good reviews. We want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible so I will look into an alternative idea for the on/off of the security light near that room. We will also consider heating for the pool. thanks for your ideas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The bed and breakfast is located excellently near the centre of Stellenbosch.
The house is very pretty (both outside and inside) and so is the street.

Reception is friendly, rooms are very nice (especially for who likes historic buildings) and the breakfast good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruud T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We travelled for work from Australia and really enjoyed the breakfast and front desk staff - most helpful at all times. We found the rooms we were in fascinating for their history and multiple facilities: beds comfortable, excellent bathrooms, and desk to work at. While we were there, we had some problems with the internet, but it was being fixed as we left. Laundry service was prompt, and sitting in the lounge or around the pool was relaxing, in addition to the good sized rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl92, Owner at Ryneveld Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for your review! I am extremely proud when my staff give exellent service to guests. It was great meeting you and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Great service, tips for local restaurants/bars, amazing breakfast and very friendly people! We had a great time in Stellenbosch, partially due to Ryneveld lodge. Walking distance from the warm heart of Stellenbosch and minutes away from the vineyards (by car).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl92, Owner at Ryneveld Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you so much for your kind remarks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.5 mi away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
950 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Vibe Guest Studios
The Vibe Guest Studios
#48 of 116 in Stellenbosch
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#32 of 116 in Stellenbosch
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#15 of 116 in Stellenbosch
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twice Central
Twice Central
#1 of 116 in Stellenbosch
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryneveld Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryneveld Country Lodge

Address: 67 Ryneveld Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £64 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryneveld Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryneveld Country Lodge is situated opposite the University in the heart of the beautiful Cape wine-lands. The building, Victorian style, embraces the history of Stellenbosch as an historical monument. Breakfast is served in our gracious dinning room with high ceilings and tastefully furnished with Antiques or outside next to the pool with the sound of the fountain in the background. Rooms are en-suite, mini-bar, air-con, DSTV satellite, tea/coffee, cottages have kitchenettes , most rooms have LCD screens and wireless Internet access in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ryneveld Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing