We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax at the pure state”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoopenburg Guest House
Ranked #31 of 111 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“relax at the pure state”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Thankyou thankyou thankyou!

We found just what we needed after a hectic tourist season and - first of all- managed to simply sleep and relax for a couple of days before doing anything.
The stay was made unforgettable by the dedication of all the team that did anything possible to assist us..organizing wine tastings, driving us around and introducing us to hidden gem's of the area.

Super comfortable rooms, dedicated staff, stunning views form the porch and great breakfast. Not to forget winetastings just nextdoors...

What more do you need? We can definitively recommend hoopenburg guest house to anybody and certainly will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redmonkeylodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    38
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
49
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just back from the Cheese Festival and stayed at Hoopenburg, very friendly,hospitable and welcoming, nothing was a trouble. Room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was great. Excellent value for money. Will definitely return. Many thanks Charlene and your lovely staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1953Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I was fortunate to find Hoopenburg Guesthouse in 2008 as a stayover venue when I visited Cape Town for business. Two longer visits later convinced me that this is not only an excellent business acommodation venue, it is also a great place to bring my family for a holiday in the Western Cape. In 2009 (7 days) and again in 2011 (10 days) we made Hoopenburg our base from which we explored the Western Cape.

Apart from the way-too-much-to-eat farm breakfasts, the exquisite furnishings and the stylish bedrooms, being city-dwellers, we could not get enough of the wide open spaces in the gardens and the vineyards. My wife and I read more books in the many shady nooks than we did in years, while my 3 children, two of which are usually-unimpressable teenagers(!), spent their days in the pool and on bicycles exploring the wine estate.

But the service is without a doubt the one item that stands out. Phrases like helpful, supporting, curteous and attentive do not even begin to describe Charlene and her staff's wonderful way of treating their guests. Important to note here that the guesthouse was full at the time, and that the other guests received the same high standard of service. Charlene personally took care of restaurant bookings, drive-out schedules and even securing an emergency appointment at a dentist for us.

In our experience one will go far to find a place that offers a better blend of all worlds: a real wine farm experience, with all the luxuries of an upmarket downtown establishment, away from the city noise, yet close enough to shops, restaurants and business needs.

We are currently planning an extended family reunion for December 2012 in Cape Town, and we plan to book out he whole guesthouse for at least a week!

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 and 2, both with private entrances, to cater for our needs as a family with kids. Apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We just returned from one night at Hoopenburg - had planned to stay 2 nights. We were miserable from the mosquitos, lack of air circulation and dogs barking much of the night!. There were other bugs in our room as well - large crickets, for example. The pool was dirty. No one was there when we arrived to open the gate. Breakfast was okay, but I wouldn't recommend this place.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JMP618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fakenham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Stayed for 4 nights Oct 2011 as next door the Eaglevei (you can walk there for fab lunch thru the vineyard but check haven't got wedding on first!) where we had a family wedding but you need no excuse to choose Charlene's home from home as a base. Close to STellenbosch & Cape Town, wonderful breakfast, stunning gardens and excellent value for money. I will stay again next time I visit the family just to chill and re-charge. Thank you Charlene for making me so welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house luxurious but if you want your own front door so you can "pretend"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelseagirlwhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENNGLAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed at Hoopenburg Guesthouse in November 2009 for a few days and fell in love with this tranquil place immediately. The setting is in the centre of a vineyard, fields of grapevines for miles around, but close to restaurants and small towns, Stellenbosch being approx 30 mins away. There are large shopping malls a similar distance away. Approximately one hour from Cape Town, Hoopenburg offers beautifully presented rooms with modern en suite facilities, a large lounge and dining room where we enjoyed tasty breakfasts.

Nothing was too much trouble for our host, who made us feel very much at home and welcome. We arrived as guests and left as friends.

The guesthouse has a large, beautifully kept garden at the front, with a pond where a variety of ducks swam most of the day, whilst the rear of the property housed a swimming pool with sunloungers, complete with towels for the use of guests.

We sat by the pool amused many times as we watched one of the two dogs, a Welsh Sheepdog named Skye, as he rounded up the chickens, mistaking them for sheep!

We found the cost of our stay to be amazing value for what was on offer.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this region, then why waste time looking elsewhere.....you won't find better...Trust me..... K & P Liverpool, England

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PATSFELLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stellenbosch
2.3 mi away
Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm
9.5 mi away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#43 of 111 in Stellenbosch
96 reviews
4.8 mi away
Vine Guesthouse
Vine Guesthouse
#42 of 111 in Stellenbosch
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#9 of 111 in Stellenbosch
365 reviews
9.4 mi away
Baruch Guest House
Baruch Guest House
#17 of 111 in Stellenbosch
136 reviews
18.0 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#24 of 63 in Franschhoek
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoopenburg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoopenburg Guest House

Property: Hoopenburg Guest House
Address: Hoopenburg Wine Estate, R101 | Sandringham Road, Stellenbosch 7699, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoopenburg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket Guesthouse on wine farm outside Stellenbosch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hoopenburg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing