We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hoopenburg Guest House
Ranked #35 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had pleasant start for our holiday in this guest house (family cottage) with great weather and breakfast served at the outside terrace. Our kids still miss Skye (the dog) and would like to go again. We had nice dinner at the vineyard nearby and this was a pretty good location to visit also other vine estates in Stellenbosch.

Room Tip: For family, the family cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TitoKiljander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Guesthouse & would definitely recommend it to others. Would love to go again & stay for a couple of days! Clean air, friendly people, awesome service & breakfast. Can't wait for the next trip :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarykevanDyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Beautiful rooms and grounds in the heart of the winelands. We were the only folks staying here, so it had a cool private feel. Great staff, plus two awesome dogs. 10 min drive from Stellenbosch, which is fine for us as a launch point for wine tours. Plus, a cellar on site, if you're in the mood for a post- (or Pre-??) breakfast tasting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JFM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I liked this guest house. It's not luxurious, but very comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent value for money. Very convenient to Cape Town, as it is near the highway (but a world removed), but also convenient to the Stellenbosch wine region Good breakfast. Nice relaxed atmosphere on the well-established Hoopenburg wine estate (suggestion: the guest house should offer a complimentary wine tasting -- I had to go to the separate tasting room to sample and purchase the estate's wines). I highly recommend the nearby Fairview winery (and cheesemaker) for a gourmet, well-priced lunch.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The staff and owner of the guest house were very professional. My wife and I spent a night at the guest house on our way to Cape Town and were very impressed by everything - just a minor hiccup with the plumbing which was still being worked on otherwise we really enjoyed our visit and stay!! Thank you..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

What a little gem of a place. We were made to feel welcome from our arrival up to our departure. It was vey peaceful and quiet. My wife and I had a typical "oupa en ouma sit op die stoep" afternoon on Sunday, reading newspapers and drinking delightful Hoopenburg red wine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Fantastic Stay at the Hoopenburg Guesthouse during our Holiday in October 2013. We had booked the very large Room with a Bath and a Shower. But what we paid was not for this Room but for a smaller (also spacious) One. Was a Misunderstanding with Booking.Com. Despite al this we got the biggest Room without a Problem. Charlene the Owner was fantastic. Breakfast was really tastfull and ther was LOTS to eat. Next to your Room there is in Fact a whole House for the Guests with a Swimming Pool in the back Garden. The Views are breathtaking. The first Night we drove for our Dinner to Stellenbosch and the second Night to Paarl. The Rooms are really nice, clean and spacious, the Beds very comfortable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gouwenaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
9.5 mi away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#44 of 115 in Stellenbosch
103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm
8.8 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#29 of 115 in Stellenbosch
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Baruch Guest House
Baruch Guest House
#16 of 115 in Stellenbosch
146 reviews
8.6 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#3 of 115 in Stellenbosch
454 reviews
5.9 mi away
Weltevreden Estate
Weltevreden Estate
#42 of 115 in Stellenbosch
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoopenburg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoopenburg Guest House

Address: Hoopenburg Wine Estate, R101 | Sandringham Road, Stellenbosch 7699, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £58 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoopenburg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket Guesthouse on wine farm outside Stellenbosch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hoopenburg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing