We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Stellenbosch”

Just Joey Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Just Joey Guesthouse
Ranked #69 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Alicante
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Lovely guesthouse with very friendly and helpful staff.If you can get the garden room you're on a winner here! Unfortuately we had one of the two rooms which open on to the office/breakfast area.If it's privacy you're after this is not for you! You can hear everything gong on on the other side of your door and I suppose that means the reverse is true :) We were lucky not to have had other guests who used the common area while we were trying to sleep - we didn't get in till late - but on the days where breakfast is served indoors if you're in room 4 or 5 don't count on getting much sleep after 6.30! Still, all in all the advantages outweighed the disadvantages and we spent a pleasant two nights here.Breakfast was good and the honesty bar is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Get the garden room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
26
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We loved Just Joey!! We originally had 1 night booked then returned to Cape Town where we were very displeased with our hotel- We cancelled the rest of the Cape Town hotel and hurried back to Just Joey.

Excellent location for walking into the main part of town. Cannot say enough about the friendliness of the staff. No street noise, but depending on your room may hear some of the guests/breakfast set up. The rooms are a little dated but this did not bother us.

Room Tip: Book Room 6/ The Garden Room if you can! It is detached from the main guesthouse, is quite large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttsalinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Very central so one can walk to shops and restaurants, lovely breakfast, staff most helpful. Bathrooms are in need of revamp, they looking a bit tired. Quality of tv s and channels very limited, if you are a sports lover.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bridigit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just Joey guest house is like a home away from home. The rooms are very nice and the staff are very helpful. The gardens are beautiful and the scenary from the guest house is amazing.

Room Tip: Book early because the guest house is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namukulo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogale city
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was my second visit to this riverside B&B. I was welcomed as an old friend even after a 2 year hiatus. Despite my after hours arrival I was shown professional and friendly hospitality. I like this place!
The restaurant/boutique shopping centre is a minute's walk away, but the guesthouse is quiet. All you hear is the river. I shall return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_Barker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Booking accommodation for friends is not always an easy thing. You have to make a decision amidst so many options and match such different personal expectations.
My latest booking of 2 Italian friends (for the first time i n Stellenbosch) at JUST JOEY Guest House on the river side in Stellenbosch was a great success. They loved the setting, they loved the cosiness, they had great words for the kindness of the manageress on duty. All in all it's such a relief to have made the right choice for them.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Friendly staff who cant do enough for guests, great breakfast, lovely garden and small plunge pool and really central, absolutely wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolabolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Serenahof Guest Apartments
Serenahof Guest Apartments
#44 of 52 in Stellenbosch
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#52 of 112 in Stellenbosch
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avenues Guest Lodge
Avenues Guest Lodge
#22 of 112 in Stellenbosch
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Hoek Manor
De Hoek Manor
#38 of 112 in Stellenbosch
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#30 of 112 in Stellenbosch
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Just Joey Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Just Joey Guesthouse

Property: Just Joey Guesthouse
Address: 13 Noordwal West Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Just Joey Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Just Joey Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing