We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best nights sleep!”

Just Joey Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Just Joey Guesthouse
Ranked #67 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the best nights sleep!”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Just Joey is very homely,central and clean and staff really friendly. But beds are tiny,outside bright lights shine into the room through the curtains all night and fellow guests have no consideration for fellow guests with sitting in the lounge which is 5 meters from your door and laughing and drinking until all hours. So if you looking for a good nights sleep you are not guarenteed it! I would only recomment this guesthouse if they installed queen size beds, put block out curtains in the rooms and had a guest house policy that fellow guests do not party while other guests are sleeping. I never ever complain but I am afraid the night left me exhausted and I still need to run a marathon at 5.30am the following morning!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
26
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Very convenient location - just 5 mins walk to shops and restaurants and, we felt, price was competitive re other establishments in Stellenbosch (which we found more expensive for accommodation than other areas we visited).
Comfortable and quiet room and good breakfast.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WendB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton. England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Spent a wonderful week at Just Joeys. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and became great friends. A great central location for Stellenbosh and the surounding attractions
The garden and small dip pool were wonderful after a day out. The breakfasts were great and the rooms very clean. The honesty bar, also a great attraction.
Would definately reccomend this place and would love to return soon.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Boltonbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

I have stayed in just Joey's for 10 and 8 day stays in 2008 and 2007 respectively with colleagues one year and family the next. The front desk , cooking and cleaning staff are lovely and will go out of their way to help you. The location is great and, if you get in touch with them prior to arrival, they will arrange transportation from the hotel.

The rooms are all different and maintained well with heaters and wool blankets for cold nights. Breakfast is lovely - just don't sleep beyond serving time. Cookies and tea bags are left in rooms in the afternoon and their is an "honesty bar" in the common area where you can purchase a bottle of wine or other beverage when the staff have left for the night.

The staff will help you arrange tours, find restaurants and stay safe. Just Joey's is a wonderful place to stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationMongerMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Just Joey Guesthouse Stellenbosch
We recently spent three nights in Just Joey. Centrally situated, just two minutes walk from Dorp Street, the main historic area, and what a lovely peaceful haven it is.
Breakfast was taken each morning in the beautiful lush garden where there's a small plunge pool. Fresh fruit, yogurts, different breads and any variation on the English cooked breakfast is available. Nothing seems too much trouble and all the staff were happy to help out with information and suggestions to make our stay memorable.
Although another reviewer mentioned the bathrooms need updating, ours was a little tired, however we did have a bath as well as a shower, but does that matter when you're only paying over £60 a night for two people. You certainly couldn't get that in England!

  • Liked — Value for money and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We stayed here last week. Our room was very pleasant and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was very basic and the breakfast was average but tasty.

The property has a beautiful garden area and a small pool which we did not use. There is no secure parking for cars as you just park at the side of the property in a driveway but our car was safe.

The property is in the centre of Stellenbosch so walking around the town was easy from this location. Just Joey is an attractive property but just needs those little extra touches to be a wonderful place to stay. Having said that, if any one needs a centrally located guesthouse then this fits the bill.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds and central location
  • Disliked — The bathroom was a bit basic and could do with sprucing up
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
793 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serenahof Guest Apartments
Serenahof Guest Apartments
#43 of 51 in Stellenbosch
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#52 of 112 in Stellenbosch
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
de Oude Meul Guest House
de Oude Meul Guest House
#100 of 112 in Stellenbosch
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Hoek Manor
De Hoek Manor
#38 of 112 in Stellenbosch
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Just Joey Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Just Joey Guesthouse

Property: Just Joey Guesthouse
Address: 13 Noordwal West Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Just Joey Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Just Joey Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing