We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a safe place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge Stellenbosch
Ranked #104 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not a safe place”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Please stay somewhere else, very unsafe place, no security, random people wondering in and out who weren’t staying. Loads of people smoking in common areas. Not a very nice place I’m afraid. Wish we had spent a bit more money on somewhere more central in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    15
    25
    13
    22
See reviews for
2
38
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Didnt like it at all.
It smelled really bad and the dorms and bathrooms were not really clean.
They don't even change the sheets regulary. One Guy in our dorm left one night before us and they didn't change his sheets after his departure. The next person slept in the same sheets.
The staff was fine but Not really that friendly. Seemed like they didn't care and we were ennoying them.
By the way, dont go there because you think it is a "Party Hostel" it is Not! It was really quiet and empty.
The Location was Good, but just go to another Hostel, stellenbosch is really beautiful and the locals are really nice!!
We are used to low standard and cheap hostels, but nothing like that...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franzi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stellenbosch hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed at the Stumble Inn campground 3 nights with my girlfriend as part of an overland trip in the end of December 2012 and was not too happy about the place.
We got nearly no sleep due to the noise and poor layout of the place (bar/common area next to camp ground).

There is constant very loud music in the lounge area. When writing this review I went to ask them to turn it down twice. First the barmaid who was nearly sleeping on the counter turned it down for about 3 minutes before turning it up again. Second time she waited maybe a minute before turning it up again...

The camping is in the garden just next to the common area/bar where people hang out until very late. There is only a thin plastic sheet wall so it sounds like you had everybody in your tent.
First night there was a party until about 1 oclock which was ok. Second night someone was sitting talking very loudly until 1.30 am - until I asked to lower their voices. With them gone some partygoers came back at 2 am and made some racket. third time I woke up was at 3.30 pm where two other people sat talking very loudly in the common area. Partly the lack of sleep is due to the lack of consideration from other travellers, but the layout is also to blame.

Kitchen is ok - it was clean when we visited, but the fridge was not cold enough.

Location is good, close to the trainstation and the city centre

Booking of tours were ok - and they were helpful with that

The place runs the Easy Rider wine tours which was very rushed.
At the first place we ended up with other groups so we were 60-70 people going through the winery. nobody could hear anything the guide said.
Same place I asked the Easy Rider guide if we could take photos of the wine bottles we had sampled and got a very provocative answer: "That is a cute question, but I have already handed them back - so we dont have time for that"... He did not keep the ones visible after my question.
Everything was very rushed, and we could hardly drink the small wine sample before the next was poured in the same glass. Additionally the easy rider guide was smoking while pouring the wine - so you had cigarette smoke in your face while sampling (including smelling) the wine. He also dripped wine on me twice.
Several of the other guests were not happy either as the guide was very impolite.
The guy said that they were very busy due to x-mas. In my opinion we should not be treated like cash-cows just because they are busy. Busy means more money for them - so they should be happy about many customers!

I would book a wine tour through another company - and pay a bit extra to have more time each place (we had a 450 ZAR trip).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddictDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The girl that helped us when checking in, was not interested at all in helping us and did not explain anything. We had a private room next to the entrance of the hostel and kept hearing people coming in and out all night. The bed sheets were to small for the mattress (which resulted in sleeping on a filthy mattress...) and the shower was cold. This place might be better if you are camping with friends, but we didn't like it at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We showed up at this backpackers with no reservation. We got a double room (what we asked for), but in the second location of this backpackers, 50 meters down the road. This was a rather scruffy place, the bathroom in particular. A bit rundown place. The backdoor (to the backyard) of the house could not even be locked! Although they said there would be electric wires all around the backyard, I could not see it everywhere. The main building looked better, although I have not seen the rooms. There is free wifi also.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the second location building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-travelfraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jinghong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stumble Inn is a great place to hang out for a few days. We came to South-Africa to buy a car, but couldn't find anything to our liking in Cape Town, but we found one in Stellenbosch. After arriving at the Stumble Inn the manager George went out of his way to help us. He helped check out the car when we did a test drive and helped us get all the paperwork sorted. It's quite a hassle to put a car on your name as a foreigner in South-Africa, but thanks to George we succeeded.
The place itself is very nice, they have a nice big garden where you can chill out (and camp) and a big fireplace for the evenings. George and Sharon runs the bar themselves and it's always fun to have a chat with them.
Anything you want to do in the neighbourhood, just ask them and they will always know. I recommend going here.
Stellenbosch itself is nicer than Cape Town for partying, as it's save to walk the main streets at night and there's always a busy bar in town.
They also run a very nice wine tour, where you'll get to taste up to 20 wines in a day :).

Room Tip: For quiet: take the other house. For party, take the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andries M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

we camped in the backgarden, which really is just a backgarden, The kitchen was clean but there was a bit of backlog as people don't always clean their dishes.There is a TV accessible to everyone. The people are nice, but they don't go out of their way to please/help you. There are limited parking spaces available and it is just of the street, so not very secure. Although we had no problems with security there. The backpackers is in the centre of Stellenbosch and everything is close by. Gino's is a nice restaurant nearby that aims at the student population from the university, so it is not expensive but still it has very nice food.
A nice thing to do in Stellenbosch is the village museum, that takes you through four different houses from 4 different eras. Everything is restored to match that particular era and a museum staff member who explains everything about that particular house when you come in.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bram_van_der_Horst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
#40 of 51 in Stellenbosch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#30 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Groenvlei Guest Farm
Groenvlei Guest Farm
#90 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Besigheim
Besigheim
#68 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge Stellenbosch

Property: Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge Stellenbosch
Address: 12 Mark Street | Central, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, genuine old style backpackers lodge, dorms and doubles, swimming pool and pool table, gr8 wine tours, bike hire, self catering kitchens, free tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge Stellenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge Stellenbosch Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing