We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take-away portion”
Review of Java Cafe

Java Cafe
Ranked #30 of 257 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: US$5 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Java Bistro offer full breakfasts with lunch, dinner and an open show kitchen with qualified chefs preparing your gourmet meal to perfection Enjoy our side walk seating with a glass wine from our cellar with over a hundred to choose from
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“take-away portion”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We dined there on 5/7/2013, and ordered a Green Thai curry as my son could not join us for dinner. Only at home, when we opened the box, did I see the size of the portion - extremely small. I have phoned the restaurant at least 4x to speak to the owner, who is never there, but I have left a message for him to call me. I am still waiting for his call, 3 weeks later.
I shall definately not rush back there, as my calls were obviously not taken seriously.

There are many more restaurants to visit, not so?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DELENE k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    230
    83
    34
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ok food and not too expensive.”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The food is good, not expensive, and relaxed. Maybe a little boring in a town with such great food as Stellenbosch. Nice waitresses. Wouldn't take a nice date there, but a nice place to get a decent meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but nothing to write home about”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I like the location of this eatery and the food was very nice. Nothing too exciting about the service or the experience. Just sort of average but still a nice spot to drop by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The food is always good, but the service is always bad. I wouldn't rush back here.It is also very cramped in terms of seating arrangements.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picked a bad day”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Meal was nice. Service was a bit slow. Still waiting for our water. I think we got there after the lunch rush and while there was staff shift change

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NarelleinTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java Cafe also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Java Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing