We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caledon Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caledon Villa
Ranked #27 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miaoli, Taiwan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

A treasure for those interested in South African history and culture. Its owners, the Krige family trace their lineage through seven generations and have artefacts and items of interest throughout the Guest House. The place is well run, clean and the staff welcoming. A perfect place to stay when you want to explore Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    52
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
73
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I use to stay at Caledon Villa since 2010 at least twice a year, on my way to and from the rooibos producing fields of the Clanwilliam surrounding the Cederberg mountains for a research trip. Apart from the very historical and architectural designs and collections which magnify the beauty of this VILLA, the very friendly and family like approach of the personels like Brenice, Carrisa and Ode is so marvellous!!

Dr A.I. Hassen
Pretoria, South Africa

Room Tip: The Earl is my favourite, especially the TV sets and the position just parallel to the bed. I also r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AhmedPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at Caledon Villa for 4 nights to attend a graduation at the university. The property is perfectly located in a quiet spot ideal for the university, the sports grounds (where graduation takes place) and the historic centre of the town. The service provided by Johan and his staff couldn't be faulted including airport pick-up and organising a hire car at short notice. Excellent breakfast and in-room facilities and the villa garden is a lovely place to relax. One small gripe was that my bed wasn't so comfortable, but that may simply be my personal preference (and the effects of jetlag), so I won't hesitate to use Caledon Villa again when I return next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed for two nights at Caledon Villa. The owner, Johan, was very service minded, helping us out with planning of routes, maps and places to visit. Great breakfast.

Our room had a small terrace but was facing the parking. Even though the guesthouse was nicely kept in its original style, perhaps our room felt a bit worn out.

The location was great, just a short walk from the city and in a nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina-Johan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etiolles, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stellenbosch has become over the years our favorite stay in South Africa. Fine dining , fine wine, historic building, lots of great little shops , a young dynamic population in the streets .... oh yes
and of course Johan , Ode and staff at the Caledon Villa.
This year arriving and departing from Capetown airport,we choose the Caledon as our first stop 4 nights and as our last stop also 4 nights. As return guests our 7 th stay we were warmly welcomed
but rest assured Johan goes out of his way for all his guests and can be most helpful for first time visitors.
Great variety of rooms, great location, lovely garden with pool and general ambience that contributes to an exceptionnal stay and that feeling of a second home

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGEDORLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We just spent 2 weeks at Caledon Villa. It was a wonderful experience. We have spent many nights in B&B in all different countries, this is the first one we felt like we were leaving friends when we left. Johan, Ode, Bernice & Carisa made us feel like family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katheryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

My husband and I absolutely love this charming guesthouse in the heart of Stellenbosch. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. This is the perfect place to be to explore the beautiful wine-country of South Africa. You will fall in love with this area. For us it felt like a home-away-from-home. We even had a fireplace in our room. How cool is that? We definitely recommend a stay here if you would like to visit one of the most beautiful places in the world.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria201154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#7 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#46 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#6 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenues Guest Lodge
Avenues Guest Lodge
#24 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#31 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledon Villa

Property: Caledon Villa
Address: 7 Neethling Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledon Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a holiday rich in cultural exchange and personal care. Owners Johan and Ode share their passions for arts and culture. Experience a bygone era from this splendid Edwardian guest house, located in the historical centre of Stellenbosch. Comfortable rooms have TV with 10 selected channels, WiFi, fridge and tea tray. Hosts will assist with planning your holiday. Walk to restaurants, shops, sports facilities and university. Central to golf and wine estates and large pool and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caledon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing