We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and efficient, lovely setting, great breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caledon Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caledon Villa
Ranked #26 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Handsacre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficient, lovely setting, great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This establishment consists of two substantial houses linked by a partially-enclosed corridor. Each of the spacious rooms is themed in some way or other, and has a name (rather than a number) to reflect this. They are all well-furnished and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent, and all the staff are friendly and welcoming as well as efficient. Wifi internet is reliable, with the initial voucher free of charge, though I found the vouchers rather unpredictable as to how much traffic they would carry before expiring! There is plenty of outside space for guests, including a roof garden over the garage, from which there is a lovely view of (sometimes snow-topped) mountains, and a swimming pool (empty for the wintere season when I visited). The centre of town, which has many good eating opportunities, is within an easy walk. Overall, it was a quiet and comfortable stay, and as a professional musician I was most interested to see that several great names in Classical music have stayed here in the past!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoltonMusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    52
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
73
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good location, well maintained property in beautiful setting with nice features. Pleasant outside eating area with lots of choice at breakfast. Nice little touches in the room with nice complementaries, however the bed was not the most comfortable and the bathroom ceiling was very low, I am not very tall but bumped my head on ceiling more than once. The staff were also not as warm and friendly as we had witnessed in other hotels, B&Bs on our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Staying at Caledon Villa was awesome. I really enjoyed the tranquility and comfort that I deserved. I had a great time and enjoyed my breakfast every morning. Anyone looking for a quiet and comfortable place to stay in Stellenbosch, head to Caledon Villa.I would definetely come back to this place when I am visiting Stellenbosch in future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Havelinus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spend a weekend - very well maintained property, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Some nice features include a roof top garden, the Krige museum and the doll collection. Very accomodating, helpfull and friendly staff - assisted with everything we needed from storage after check out time to bottle stoppers. The pool will be lovely during summer time and the garden is stunning. Great value for money - rooms and bathrooms are spacious and there is a lovely spabath in the honeymoon room. The Charlotte Rhys amenities are a treat! Little snacks on tables trough out the house and rusks on the coffee/tea tray that also includes hot chocolate - delightful and special.

Very centrally situated, but quiet and peacefull.

Breakfast is tasty and will keep you going until dinner time.

Thank you, Berenice & Bernard for all your trouble.

Room Tip: The honeymoon room has a spa bath! But all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My parents and I had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Caledon Villa in December 2013. I am a bit late in my review, but really it was so wonderful, it's stuck with me since.

We happened upon it by chance, and had such a wonderful time that we extended our stay an extra night. As our initial reservation was only two nights, our room was booked out the third, but the staff easily moved our luggage to another wonderful room.

The breakfast spread was a refreshing assortment of fresh fruits, eggs, yogurt, cereal, and other baked goods that accommodated any appetite. I point this out as my parents and I were quite pleased at the variety especially in comparison to traveling in the US where breakfast is often more limited and not as exciting.

Our first morning, over breakfast, Johan, the owner, met with us to find out our varied interests and literally mapped out a personalized plan of wineries and other sights to visit. There are so many to choose from, narrowing it down a bit is necessary, while taking care to not overdo anything in one day. His recommendations were spot on and perfect. My parents' interest in archeology, mine in food, and our joined interest in architecture were perfectly met by his recommendations. The restaurants he and his staff recommended were some of the best we ate at during our vacation.

Of course the pool was a great treat to cool off in or sit next to and relax after a long day of eating and sightseeing.

My parents and I are all seasoned travelers, and we all agreed this might be the BEST place we have ever stayed, and that there was nothing to improve upon. We're already thinking of our next vacation to the area so we can come back to Caledon Villa again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

A lovely place on a quiet spot near the town centre. Large and clean rooms, a nice garden and the swimming pool is larger than average in Stellenbosch. Breakfast offers a continental option. The real attraction is the owner. Mr. Kruger has an outstanding knowledge of the region and its history, and a good intuition for what might interest his guests. Follow his advices and your stay will become even more interesting.
One weakness: wifi is (after the first 500Mb) not free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived on a Sunday late afternoon. A young man and woman were behind the desk in reception. The young man took us up to our bedroom, gave us the key and scuttled off. He did not point out how anything in the room worked or more important offer to help with our luggage. The house is old with many stairs, steps and corridors - NO LIFT. My partner is 72 and I am 70 and we would have appreciated some help. Later we asked if there was internet service and were told that we were allowed 500mb free. This lasted for less than 10 hours and then we had to pay. At a previous B&B were were given 250mb and this lasted for 3 DAYS!!!. As you will deduce we are not heavy users of the internet, so beware of this dodge. The house and furniture are very "oude" and this may appeal to older people. No aircon in Belweb room, which is up in the roof space and gets very hot, only fans. We were not made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: Make sure there is air conditioning in your chosen room before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigellatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#9 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#47 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#7 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#31 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenues Guest Lodge
Avenues Guest Lodge
#22 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledon Villa

Property: Caledon Villa
Address: 7 Neethling Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledon Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a holiday rich in cultural exchange and personal care. Owners Johan and Ode share their passions for arts and culture. Experience a bygone era from this splendid Edwardian guest house, located in the historical centre of Stellenbosch. Comfortable rooms have TV with 10 selected channels, WiFi, fridge and tea tray. Hosts will assist with planning your holiday. Walk to restaurants, shops, sports facilities and university. Central to golf and wine estates and large pool and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caledon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing