We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money with clean rooms and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banghoek Place Hostel
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money with clean rooms and good location”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Friendly and helpful staff with easy use of computer if needed. Rooms are clean with smallish bathroom but most importantly very large surround area. Easy access to the centre of town with basic breakfast served daily.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    44
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
53
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This is a simple place for you to sleep at with a modern design and very small bathrooms.

Don't expect anything fancy here. Pretty basic and it feels clean although it's not spotless. Not a walking distance from anything exciting so you have to have a car or some other type of transportation. We rented a car and were able to park it inside the gated area every night. Only once did we have to double park it but the car was safe and we felt pretty safe here.

Free Wifi in the lobby was pretty decent. Not fast but did the job. The staff was helpful but not professional. At this price, wasn't expecting them to be. It really is all about your expectations for the price you are paying. I was happy but will not likely return because I found out that I like the luxury of one more star.

This place will be ideal for those who are not seeking a 3+ start accommodation or those traveling on a very tight budget and only need a place to sleep and shower. Capetown is gorgeous so that's pretty much all we did.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed in a double room in Bangoek Place, and chose the hostel as we were going on the Easy Rider wine tour (50 rand discount for guests staying here 2 nights). The room was very basic with concrete floors and minimal decor, but mainly clean with the exception of the shower area which looked a little bit mouldy. The hostel did feel very safe, with code access to the grounds and the parking area. The location is not ideal for those without a car, as it is a good 15 min walk to the main restaurant and bar area (although through a safe area). We were woken both mornings at about 4am by a rooster from a neighbouring property so guests should definitely bring earplugs!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

The rooms here felt like being in a concrete prison with only a moderate amount upper end furnishings. If you like cement floors and bathrooms that are small, and industrial in nature then this is for you. But if you want some comfort (and warmth) then this place is a cold box and I cannot recomend it. The staff is MIA and I was not impressed that I had to pay before seeing the room (if I hadn't I probably would have skipped). Location-wise it was a bit far from town, but walkable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Banghoek place for two nights, felt very secure with private gated parking and all entrances on security code keypads so easy to get in and out. The hostel is a little way from the main town centre (around a 15 min walk from the main restaurants and bars) however is in the university area so felt safe with campus security always around. Can walk freely around at night in the town and felt safe. Ideal as a value for money base to explore the vineyards and stellenbosch area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kierandunne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night. The room was small and old, one of the beds was half-broken. But the linen was very clean. The common bathroom was OK. It's just an OK place to stay and I probably wouldn't go back there unless I had no other choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 342TravelBug1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The place looks really nice from the outside and also the common rooms are quite big abduction comfy, but our double was quite old with mildwew on the walls and the blankets had some stains, and the bathroom was very small and yuk . Maybe the dorms are better! But the staff at the reception was really nice and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunchen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
603 reviews
1.8 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#30 of 111 in Stellenbosch
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#29 of 111 in Stellenbosch
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banghoek Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banghoek Place Hostel

Property: Banghoek Place Hostel
Address: 193 Banghoek Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banghoek Place Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing