We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Nice Staff, Clean & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banghoek Place Hostel
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here a single night and left early, so had only a brief visit. Our view in the short time was that the staff were very friendly, the other guests were helpful and open, and the accommodations were inviting and well designed. We had a lovely four poster bed with a mosquito net that gave it a very African flavour and we used more for fun than anything. Importantly it was very clean, the en-suite shower and toilet were in good order, and the kitchen was well equipped and clean. We had a large supply of complimentary roiboos tea, which I think I overdosed on and love as a contrast to the standard black teas. Lastly they had a separate social and eating area, which was great.

The one downside is the location, which is a bit outside of walking distance to the center and the gate was having issues while we were there making it a bit frustrating as we tried to leave and kept getting shut in (a bit too much hotel California for my liking!)

Pros: comfortable, clean, friendly staff and the kitchen

Cons; location and the gate.

Room Tip: The double room in the back with an ensuite and bay doors opening into the garden was quite nice
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Banghoek Place Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a couple nights. The staff are lovely and friendly and while we had some issues with little things, all were quickly resolved. The main area for improvement is cosmetic - the place badly needs a proper deep clean (communal fridge especially) and a fresh coat of paint throughout.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysconstructive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights in this hostel and were very happy throughout our stay. We had a private room with private bathroom. The rooms were very clean, modern and nicely decorated and the place proved to be excellent value for money. Staff at the hostel were very pleasant and helpful. The hostel is situated about a 15-20 minute walk from the main part of town which was the only downside, though it was very peaceful. The kitchen and all appliances were also very clean. A nice little hostel for people interested in visiting Stellenbosch and wine tasting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picasso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a package with the Easy Rider wine tour.

Our private room was basic but nice with a chair, side tables, reading lamps (rare in hostels!), clean towels, and soap in the ensuite bathroom.

The kitchen is well equipped and never felt cramped even though there isn't a ton of seating. There's a sitting area, a pool table, and a tv area (somewhat open concept so it could get noisey if all areas are being used). There's a small pool which I didn't use but seemed fairly clean. Secure parking beside the hostel.

We chose this hostel over their other property, Stumble Inn, based on the reviews and we made the right decision! We stopped in at the Inn to pick up people for the wine tours and it was much more of a typical hostel with lots of people wandering around, tired looking furniture, etc. The Banghoek hostel seemed a bit more upscale, but not necessarily where you want to be if you want to party.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back, away from the common areas, are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We loved the honey feel of this hostel. The clientele is generally slightly older folks who spend the day wine tasting and the evening in the common room eating cheese and drinking wine by the roaring fire (in the winter), while the 22 year olds party hard at stumble inn. It's a great place to spend low key evenings. We got to know the evening staff well; very friendly and helpful. The private rooms are above average for hostels and included fresh towels every day. It's alongside lots of student housing so the neighbors can get a bit noisy during the weekends, but the upside is that it's very safe to walk around at night. The tour they run from there is pretty budget--we found that the extra 100 rand for an upmarket tour was well worth it. Finally, although we had no security concerns at all, we did see that their "safe" where we had them store our passports was just an unlocked door behind the desk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

The hostelowners are great friendly people who give a very warm welcome. The employee Lloyd is the sweetest person ever:) had great conversations about SA with him. The rooms are very basic, as is the bathroom, but perfectly fine. The door of the bathroom in de dorm is a little see through, but hey, just let the others know you are there. The shower was nice and warm! Kitchen, livigroom, everything you need is there. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aStoryForTomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was a great stay due to all the vineyards we visited over the 3 days we were here. It isin quite a good location, just 15mins walk into the centre.
The rooms were very basic with no home comforts and no soap in the toilets etc.
They provide tea and coffee but no communal milk. Breakfast is not included either.
The bar had run out of any sort of alcohol and the shops don't sell any alcohol after 6pm or on Sundays so stock up if you want a drink!
Everyone was very friendly.
Also one other point I would make is that the ensuit bathrooms have pretty much see through doors which is not so pleasant and I was lucky enough to be sharing with people I know who could leave the room or look the other way when we showered or used the loo, could imagine it being quite weird if you didn't know the people in the dorm with you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
400 reviews
3.7 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
887 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#29 of 113 in Stellenbosch
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
#45 of 55 in Stellenbosch
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#30 of 113 in Stellenbosch
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banghoek Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banghoek Place Hostel

Address: 193 Banghoek Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £19 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banghoek Place Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing