We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value basic accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banghoek Place Hostel
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is very much a backpacker style of place with clean comfortable basic rooms with minimal furniture, a fan and a heater and a fully equipped kitchen area. There is secure parking available. It represents excellent value and the staff are very helpful, even letting us leave a bag whilst we travelled elsewhere. It is a little far to walk from town but without a car it would only be a short taxi ride. We would definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Stellenbosch for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stay one or more nights in Banghoek Place. Everything one could expect from a first class hostel, Banghoek has it all. Rooms are spacious, mattresses very comfy and large and the bathroom facilities are clean and well designed. The pool looked very clean too.
A large kitchen will enable everyone to prepare a meal and the chill area has enough place for everyone. And there is a pool table. Off street parking is no problem. Security is well organised.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I only slept one night at Banghoek Place Hostel, in one of the dorms, and spent very little time inside the hostel, so my comment might lack a bit of indepth. The room where I slept in had just been refurbished and everything was brand new, from the beds to the shower. The place is very clean but I have mixed feelings about the staff: I met one person very friendly and the other much less polite. If you don't have your own car, the location is not ideal, but the place is modern and it's good value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynxDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I like the layout of the table out side for people to chat. and also staff was very kind to help us for our trip

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank erimusss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Nice house with pool in front garden. Large kitchen, living room with tv, fireplace, several couches. In the back another garden, where you can also sit and relax. We had a double room upstairs, where there is another place to sit. The room was nice. It had a mosquito net and a private bathroom. Clean and enough space. At the hostel they arrange a wine tour (Easy Ride Wine Tour), which was very nice. Close to a big supermarket and in a safe neighbourhood. Easy and safe walk to the center (about 20 minutes), also at night. Safe parking behind gate.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ilse90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here two nights. The staff here is phenomenal. (when we called from the train station asking how to get there, the gal who answered the phone, Ingrid, offered to come get us in her own car since she was just finishing her shift).

They also went out of their way to make sure we got on a vineyard tour for the next day and, when a private room opened up for our 2nd night there, they made sure to tell us about it so we could, have our own room. (our 1st night we had booked a private room, but initially, we were told we'd have to move to the dorms the 2nd night - until that other room opened up)

The place is really cute, clean, free wifi, decent kitchen for meal prep and plenty of space to hang out in the commons areas. Money wise, it's not the cheapest place we've stayed and it WAS a hike from town (20 mins or so). Our 1st room had a special stink to it (like smelly feet) and the dorm rooms (we did spend a few hours in them before the other room opened up) were incredibly hot with not enough fans/outlets to put the fan in sensible spots). The private rooms have mosquito nets but the dorm rooms don't (yet, you need to keep the dorm room windows open all night to keep the room temp tolerable).

So yeah, nice place, nice staff and an average value for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here a single night and left early, so had only a brief visit. Our view in the short time was that the staff were very friendly, the other guests were helpful and open, and the accommodations were inviting and well designed. We had a lovely four poster bed with a mosquito net that gave it a very African flavour and we used more for fun than anything. Importantly it was very clean, the en-suite shower and toilet were in good order, and the kitchen was well equipped and clean. We had a large supply of complimentary roiboos tea, which I think I overdosed on and love as a contrast to the standard black teas. Lastly they had a separate social and eating area, which was great.

The one downside is the location, which is a bit outside of walking distance to the center and the gate was having issues while we were there making it a bit frustrating as we tried to leave and kept getting shut in (a bit too much hotel California for my liking!)

Pros: comfortable, clean, friendly staff and the kitchen

Cons; location and the gate.

Room Tip: The double room in the back with an ensuite and bay doors opening into the garden was quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
#48 of 59 in Stellenbosch
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge Stellenbosch
Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge St...
#103 of 116 in Stellenbosch
88 reviews
6.2 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,063 reviews
5 mi away
Lumley's Place
Lumley's Place
#1 of 1 in Pniel
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banghoek Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banghoek Place Hostel

Address: 193 Banghoek Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £15 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing