We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and safe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banghoek Place Hostel
manchester, england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and safe”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely hostel, although the bathrooms were very basic and there wasn't much hot water. The staff were really friendly and the cheese and wine tour is a must. A 10 minute walk from the centre of town but we felt very safe even walking around at night. Go to Bohemia bar for a local student night and enjoy some drinks and pool by the fire.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bethnunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    44
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
52
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I was very impressed with this hostel. I have stayed at one of the other Backpackers in Stellenbosch and this one wins hands down.

The rooms are perhaps best described as urban in decor and whilst this could have run the risk of making you feel like you are in communist Russia it actually works very well.

The common areas, including the pool, are very nice.

The location of the hostel is great, only a short walk to town, I felt very safe in Stellenbosch at all times, even walking alone late in the evening.

Finally the two ladies who run the place are lovely and even dropped me at the train station on the day I was due to leave.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Scal_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
328 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is very much a backpacker style of place with clean comfortable basic rooms with minimal furniture, a fan and a heater and a fully equipped kitchen area. There is secure parking available. It represents excellent value and the staff are very helpful, even letting us leave a bag whilst we travelled elsewhere. It is a little far to walk from town but without a car it would only be a short taxi ride. We would definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Stellenbosch for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stay one or more nights in Banghoek Place. Everything one could expect from a first class hostel, Banghoek has it all. Rooms are spacious, mattresses very comfy and large and the bathroom facilities are clean and well designed. The pool looked very clean too.
A large kitchen will enable everyone to prepare a meal and the chill area has enough place for everyone. And there is a pool table. Off street parking is no problem. Security is well organised.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I only slept one night at Banghoek Place Hostel, in one of the dorms, and spent very little time inside the hostel, so my comment might lack a bit of indepth. The room where I slept in had just been refurbished and everything was brand new, from the beds to the shower. The place is very clean but I have mixed feelings about the staff: I met one person very friendly and the other much less polite. If you don't have your own car, the location is not ideal, but the place is modern and it's good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynxDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I like the layout of the table out side for people to chat. and also staff was very kind to help us for our trip

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank erimusss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisterwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Nice house with pool in front garden. Large kitchen, living room with tv, fireplace, several couches. In the back another garden, where you can also sit and relax. We had a double room upstairs, where there is another place to sit. The room was nice. It had a mosquito net and a private bathroom. Clean and enough space. At the hostel they arrange a wine tour (Easy Ride Wine Tour), which was very nice. Close to a big supermarket and in a safe neighbourhood. Easy and safe walk to the center (about 20 minutes), also at night. Safe parking behind gate.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ilse90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beautiful South
The Beautiful South
#14 of 16 in Stellenbosch
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
581 reviews
1.8 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#31 of 112 in Stellenbosch
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banghoek Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banghoek Place Hostel

Property: Banghoek Place Hostel
Address: 193 Banghoek Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing