We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely pleasant stay”
Review of Acara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acara
Ranked #29 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

we had a wonderful time at Acara, with Fiona. superb views and an oasis of tranquility. located away from the road, amongst the vineyards. Helderberg is always in your view, even from the lovely pool. we felt very well looked after!!
Will definitely revisit when in area!!
many thanks Fiona!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I travel to Cape Town most years and Acara is one of our favourite places to stay.

It is such a beautiful and restful place to stay. Fiona is a wonderful host and is always there to help and advise which vineyards and restaurants to visit.

The garden for me is such a joy as a keen gardener and I go home full of new ideas for my own garden.

The rooms are very well appointed with hairdryer, Wi-Fi, fridge (for the wine), tea and coffee and always fresh milk in the fridge when you arrive.

Acara is a wonderful place to stay and maybe I shouldn't be telling you this - as its been our secret place and I might not be able to get booked in next time, now that you all know!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stay three nights at Acara and we really enjoyed it. We got a very warm welcome and Fiona gave us a lot of great tips. She knows the area very well.

Rooms are quiet, clean and with a personal touch.

After our trip we realized that Stellenbosch is the perfect starting point for most of the activities around capetown. And it is much safer.

Room Tip: Stay at least 3 nights and you will really enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have been at Acara for two nights. Fiona is a perfect host, very friendly and helpful, top service. She helped us with all bookings and her recommendations were all great. We had a small cottage that was wonderful so that we felt like home and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrinzessinKnopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Both my husband and I have travelled extensively and I can honestly say this is one of the loveliest places we have stayed - Fiona is a wonderful host with a beutiful tranquil home - her dogs are quite lovely especially Zim - who is such a character - I wish we had realised that we could have stopped at Acara for 7 to 10 days and done our travelling from there rather than stopping in the hustle and bustle of Cape Town - the location is really central to the wine route - beaches - Hermanus and so much more - the grounds are so well kept - the pool is stunning and the bbq facilities are great - wifi is available - ipod docking station n flat screen TV - this is a must stay place not to be missed on anyones SA trip

Room Tip: The Lavender cottage is fab - and more than enough room for a couple or family of 4 - the Willow Tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Myself and three colleaques, stayed at the Acara on the 21 November 2013. What a wonderful place and the most wonderful host Fiona. she went out of her way to make us feel at home, the garden and swimming pools was like an area in paradise. We sat on the balconary for breakfast and watched the bird building nests. The Acara is about twenty five mins from Cape Town, and a easy drive, but try and miss the rush hour traffic from Cape Town between 4pm and 6pm most days it can be a bit slow. Will we back, yes I intent taking my wife next year, this is a place not to be missed
Thank you Fiona

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights while traveling around South Africa on our honeymoon. Fiona was so welcoming and helpful, she organized a fantastic wine tour for us and at her suggestion we went for dinner at 96 Winery road afterwards, which is walking distance from Acara. The grounds and gardens are beautiful, the horses and dogs are charming and the guest cottage we stayed in was private, clean and very comfortable, with a fireplace to make it really cosy in the evenings. She was also flexible about checkout time which allowed us a little more time to spend in Stellenbosch without having to worry about our luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eadaoin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.1 mi away
In the Vine Manor House
In the Vine Manor House
#37 of 113 in Stellenbosch
100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Webersburg
Webersburg
#22 of 113 in Stellenbosch
160 reviews
7.4 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#9 of 113 in Stellenbosch
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eikendal Lodge
Eikendal Lodge
#6 of 113 in Stellenbosch
297 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
2.7 mi away
Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse
Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse
#80 of 113 in Stellenbosch
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acara

Address: 24 Winery Road | Exactly 1.2km down Winery Road, nr Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £60 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Winelands, between Stellenbosch and Somerset West, Acara is nestled in a valley amidst scenic vineyards. A fantastic location for visiting the entire area - from Cape Town to Franschhoek & beyond, but yet peaceful and quiet. Beautifully appointed rooms, a sparkling heated swimming pool and large landscaped gardens. Amazing views to the Helderberg Mountains. A place to relax! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing