We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious hideaway”
View from Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Garden
Pool Relaxing Area Garden Path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
View from Garden
Pool Relaxing Area
Garden Path
Front Garden View
Pool
Playground
Kitchen
Bedroom 3
Dining Room 2
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stellenbosch, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
324cassf
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious hideaway”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have spent 2 nights here. From the wonderful welcome to our final farewell, we have been blown away by the staff and amenities. This tranquil mansion in the heart of the wine region has been a dream start to our South African adventure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaymedobs...
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Photos don't do this place justice! Such a beautiful hideaway with great staff and all its gorgeous pets to keep you company. So many hidden gems, I would love to stay longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“unwind in peace in sunny beautifu Le Jardin”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014

After a few days at Le Jardin all the stresses and strains of family life floated away. The first thing we noticed? Le Jardin is even more beautiful than the photos indicate. Its always great when a holiday home exceeds expectation, we were so excited. I say holiday home but Le Jardin does not have the usual slightly sterile feel of a holiday home. It is beautifully decorated throughout with all the lovely little touches of a family home. The bathrooms are perfect, the towels fluffy, the water endlessly hot and the sheets beautifully smooth and cool. We had no sooner wondered if the house had a.......than we found it; books, DVDs, games, stereo its all there....

Of course we went to sunny Stellenbosch from cold rainy England for the great outdoors. We spent all our time in the amazing garden or by the lovely pool. The garden at Le Jardin as you would hope, is simply jaw dropping. There is a lovely playground for the little ones and a beautiful lake with a boat and zip wire for the bigger ones, as well as raised walk ways and an enormous dangling orb! My 11 year old son was transfixed by the lake, he was out in the row boat within seconds of arrival and did a great impression of a kid from "Swallows and Amazons" which thrilled us as computers usually figure large in his life.

The staff were unobtrusive and yet instantly attentive. Clothes disappeared from the laundry baskets and were delivered freshly pressed later the same day. The kitchen was cleaned more than once a day. The several BBQs were ready for lighting and cleaned and reset over night. There is an amazing Pizza oven, its huge, in the garden, if you fancy a pizza party! Its by one of the several decked areas you can gather. For a busy mother of three on a self catering holiday I actually got a rest from the washing and dishes and that was simply fantastic.

We stayed on the Garden Route for a few days at the end of our holiday and then flew home. We went on safari at Botlierskopf which is a long drive but a beautiful one.

I dream about being able to go back to Le Jardin one day.......we did not want to come home!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Garden
Liked least: Coming home.....
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimi Pari...
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific place, living like a royal member”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in February 2013

Very nice house, with excellent features: tasteful and comfortable furnitures, lots of space, nice garden, big swimming pool, nice lake perfect for a bottle of champagne.
Excellent service, friendly and helpful staff.
Very quite area, but only 5 minutes driving from busy downtown Stellenbosch, not too far from Capetown.
Car needed (like everywhere in South Africa)
I would certainly recommend this place for a relaxing break !

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The space, the master bedroom / bathroom. Swimming pool / garden . The big dogs
Liked least: the need of a car
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morcinell...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“The place to stay in Stellenbosch!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The property is absolutely gorgeous. There is something to do for everyone! Swim in the pool, read a book in the living area or watch a movie on the flat screen! The staff were excellent and always available to assist with anything from booking a restaurant to hiring a private yoga instructor!
Not only is the villa beautiful, the surrounding landscapes are breath taking with vineyards and mountains all around you. I highly recommend this villa!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucid I
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dreamy villa nestled in the heart of wine country bliss”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Le Jardin was everything we thought it would and more. The photos don't do it any justice. Like a scene from a movie set….the property boasts a private lake, zip-lining, private garden retreats, sauna, euro-style pool, manicured gardens, kids playground area, friendly pets, short drive to downtown Stellenbosch, amazing wineries and great restaurants, 30 minutes from Cape Town airport. Staff was very accommodating with reservations, dietary needs, party planning, catering, tours and you name it!!! Highly recommend this 5-star villa for families, couples and friends alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breath-taking views, friendly & helpful staff, amazing amenities. A dream!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Like escaping into another world - rest and peace like no other”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We spent 5 days at Le Jardin at the end of a very stressful year. We loved the peace there so much that New Years Eve was spent at the villa picnicking and enjoying the surrounds rather than looking for any festivities. Our young adult children had planned to use Le Jardin as a base and spend most of their time in Cape Town; but once they saw it they spent every moment swimming in the pool; reading books lounging under the trees; enjoying meals overlooking the most magnificent views; trying out the slide and rowing boat at the dam; making their own pizzas and exploring the grounds. We could not have asked for a better place to breathe in and escape from the world; yet minutes away were the culinary tastes of quaint Stellenbosch eateries.
We spent each day waking leisurely and just leaning back into the beauty of the villa and its vistas. We spent 5 days there but it felt far longer because of the sense of grace and peace which pervades each room and balcony.
We would highly recommend this villa to anyone who wants to enjoy excellent staff service (discreet; professional; helpful and friendly - the perfect balance). It felt like being in a luxurious home where every need was miraculously met effortlessly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How peaceful it was; and how beautiful it was from every angle and room
Liked least: The children didn't enjoy the distance from the nearest beach but we thought it was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing