We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be fantastic...”
Review of Knorhoek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knorhoek
Ranked #50 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed in the 'honeymoon suite' which was supposed to be the best room. We were a bit disappointed with the room as it lacked a level of care and attention to detail. For example, a hole in the wall had been fixed with a filler but had not been painted so there was a big white patch on the wall, the shower screen was faulty so didnt close properly and there was a solid build up of dirt on the floor next to the shower.
Filter coffee and a cafetiere were provided in the room and the toiletries that were provided were very nice.
We experienced some difficulties with dinner in the evening. The staff were not aware of what was being offered to the guests e.g. 2 or 3 courses which left us in limbo as to whether we needed to drive into town for dinner or not. The staff at dinner was a lovely lady (Liesel) and the chef who we have to give huge credit to. Liesel was a fantastic waitress who did everything she could to make our evening as good as possible.
The food was excellent. The fillet beef and accompanying sauce was exquisite and the elderflower and champagne jelly was beautiful.
The disappointing thing with Knorhoek is that it could be fantastic. A bit more care and attention (some rennovation in places) and more staff to be available and provide a more personable service would significantly improve this place as the views and location are very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Rob
Thank you for your honest review and we'll definitely pay heed to your suggestions. The hole in the wall remains a problem as we are fully booked and have to choose between the unsightly filler and the room reeking of paint - we have chosen the former. (Guests depart at 11h00 and the next arrive any time after 2pm.) The faulty shower door is unforgivable. I have given your compliments to Liesel and we are very proud of her.
We trust we'll be able to make up for this discomfort when you visit us again. Sincerely Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Difficult review this. I love the place, just do not want it to get mobbed. Saying that we have just stayed there with full occupancy and it retained its charm. If you are expecting 24 hour room service with hot and cold running staff this place is not for you. If you desire a quiet, well appointed family run guest house this is the place. Situated centrally in the winelands it provides a great base. Quite easy to get to Cape town as well. The rooms are very clean, with all the facilities you need. We did the self catering bit, but breakfast and evening meals are available.

The wine produced on the farm is readily available at a very good price. Overall costs are good with a variety of rooms. This vineyard will be a favourite of mine for a long time to come, just don't tell everybody as I only get holiday at short notice!!!

Room Tip: Self catering cottages are just brilliant especially if you love to BBQ
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigeldoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear N
I had such a good giggle at your closing sentence "I only get holiday at short notice" Thank you so much for your very honest review - you actually summarised what we are trying to achieve at Knorhoek - a place like home, where you can relax en enjoy the local delights. We look forward to your next visit, never knowing when and where we shall accommodte you. Fond regards
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have just been to stay (again) at Knorhoek. If you need a little time away, with great views, fantastic wine and food and awesome hospitality then this is the place for you. The location is a perfect base for exploring the winelands. We will return as soon as the finances permit.

t truly is a gem of a place to go and stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
It is always a pleasure welcoming "old" friends back to the farm and catching up on the years inbetween visits, over a glass of wine or two! Wishing you a great summer in the Uk this year!
Fond regards
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have been for 3 nights in the wonderful Knorhoek. We loved this silent and traditional atmosphere. Especially the food was wonderful. The cook Liesel served traditional South African food. You have to ask for her traditional chicken pie. It was delicious!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doemmes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments. Liesel is almost a household name when it comes to her chicken pie. I have conveyed your compliments and explained the magnitude of Tripadvisor's influence - she is as proud as punch.
The farm is not all that silent at the moment as we are busy harvesting - yet a very interesting time for visitors.
Thanking you most sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

As a tour company we started using Knorhoek last year when I had to organise a wedding of German friends. From the start it was a wonderful experience. Everyone is always doing their utmost to accommodate every need and wish of the guests. The staff is friendly, the food delicious. Freshly baked bread at breakfast and wonderful homemade muesli are definite winners! The setting and atmosphere will be hard to beat anywhere! Knorhoek has become one of our "must do" stops in the Cape area. Thanks to Carol and her staff!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolvn, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Sir
Thank you so much for your wonderful words. Liesel is making her chicken pie as I type this e-mail. I have shown her your review and she is thrilled. It will be a little less quiet in the next few weeks as we will be starting to harvest the grapes. I really appreciate your review. All the best for 2013, regards, Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My wife and I got married at this venue in Feb 2012 and we absolutely fell in love with the up market, yet down-to-earth nature of the estate.

The accomodation is luxurious, but understated. It feels as though you're holidaying in a family friend's home.

Towerbosch is truly amazing and their food is superb. An idyllic setting for weddings and special group functions. The food and booze is extremely well-priced and offers great value.

The only problem that we incurred on the night, was that the on-site coordinator had recently taken over from a colleague and hence, there were some minor elements that weren't carried/followed through.

Overall though, it was an amazing experience and we'll definately go back for our anniversaries!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite - if it's available, is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrynWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolvn, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear D.
It is almost time for your anniversary - so I am wishing you a little early. Thank you for all your compliments about the venue and guesthouse. Please let us know what the hitches were in order to improve upon our service in the future. I really appreciate your taking the time to write down all these compliments. Hopefully we'll see you in the near future.
Happy Anniversary!! Regards
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Wonderful! Thoroughly recommend anyone considering their wedding here, the accommodation, the staff, the venue, all fantastic, cannot praise this place highly enough. We stayed 4 days and the rooms were all lovely, the whole experience was amazing would go back today if we could!

Room Tip: Rooms 5 & 6 are beautiful, the cottages were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joolie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolvn, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear J7
You were such a wonderful, fun group of people that it was an absolute pleasure having you all to stay. I so looked forward to meeting the bride after several months of both official and amusing correspondence. What a lovely person and her family and in-laws were all so easy to have around. Thank you very much for your wonderful review and all the best for 2013.
Sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.7 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
140 reviews
4.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Weltevreden Estate
Weltevreden Estate
#43 of 115 in Stellenbosch
91 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
5 mi away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#46 of 115 in Stellenbosch
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knorhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knorhoek

Address: PO Box 2 | Koelenhof, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £54 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Cape hospitality on a Fourth generation wine estate; breathtaking natural beauty of the mountain, rolling vineyards, sprawling gardens and natural streams; friendly locals to welcome you to tastefully decorated accommodation of your choice. Part of the Stellenbosch Wine Route, close to Franschhoek and Paarl ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Knorhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing