We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muratie Guesthouses
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Having been in the wine lands before, I've witnessed a range of vineyards from highly ornate, polished and somewhat sterile conglomerate-style locations, to the smaller, family owned vineyards. What a pleasure it was to find Muratie, a family-run, working vineyard, full of character, and very impressive reds.

We stayed in the magnificent Canitz's Studio Guest Cottage; we couldn't believe we had the whole place to ourselves! After a picnic up the road at Delheim (highly recommended), and a complimentary wine tasting back at Muratie, we decided to get a lovely bottle of their Method Cap Classique sparkling, and sit next to the vineyard and take in a wonderful Cape Sunset together. Having got engaged the day before, Muratie was somewhere which maintained the high we were on, and the only thing we regret, was that we could not have stayed another night. Thank you Dr Melck for being a great host, and for the time you had to discuss South African and English wines! Kurt and Faye

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtdettman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,067 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,807 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

They have been making wine here since 1699 & this family run vineyard is steeped in history. The wine tasting room has loads of photographs of family members & antiques.
Really enjoyed the wines & bought a couple of bottles of delicious pudding wine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Not the best wine selection I have seen but certainly a very interesting wine tasting room. The staff are friendly and the guest house in the estate looks adorable with a lovely garden. It was also interesting to see the wine making facility and to hear the history behind the process. This is certainly a good offering for this trip.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the guest house. Only visited the wine room for tasting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have just spent 4 nights at the Artists cottage on the Muratie Wine Estate, it was characterful, cosy, spacious, clean and all around wonderful.
The lounge / dining room is enormous and the fireplace is huge. The bedroom is spacious with good linens and electric blankets.
The bathroom was modern and clean. Its like a trip back in time.
Your back garden is a vineyard - it is beautiful.
The farm is only 10 minutes from central Stellenbosch but once you are there it is a complete escape.
This is a great experience and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirli-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Spent 1 night at this guest house .Enjoyed it's character and special uniqueness .Had sun downers with a bottle of Muratie wine outside looking towards Table Mountain,spectacular sight .Did some wonderful walks amongst the vineyards .Enjoyed the breakfast and the privacy of the place and the olde world charm

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foresthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Whatever about staying here, make sure your visit to Stellenbosch includes a trip out to Muratie to sample their fabulous wines, and their delicious farmhouse platter of meats and cheeses. Enough to feed a small army! The cottage is...well...interesting! The split front door opens into a very traditional large sitting room - complete with fur rugs, springbok horns on the wall, and wooden beams. The large bedroom and beautiful bathroom are off to the side in a more modern extension, and are very comfortable. I would recommend it for a night or two in the middle of wine country.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed in the cozy, charming cottage. Didn't have breakfast because it was Christmas and also didn't interact with the staff much. But that was what we wanted - seclusion. I saw an earlier review about the cottage being cold in winter, and I can imagine that would be a problem.

This is the not the shiney, 5-star luxury type of winery, which was just fine by me. It was low key and had a lot of character both in the cottage and in the wine-tasting/restaurant area (but didn't get to eat there because of Christmas holidays). Not the most stunning view in the Stellenbosch (but that's a high bar) but still there is a very nice (and short) walk to a viewing area in the vineyard.

Thought it was great value for the money and will definitely stay here again. Only slight issue for a couple is that the bed is two twin beds pushed together.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank peasplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stellenbosch
1.2 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muldersvlei Estate
Muldersvlei Estate
#74 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
5.7 mi away
Natte Valleij Farm
Natte Valleij Farm
#1 of 1 in Klapmuts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vine Guesthouse
Vine Guesthouse
#42 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges
5.0 mi away
Marianne Wine Estate Guesthouse
Marianne Wine Estate Guesthouse
#25 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muratie Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muratie Guesthouses

Property: Muratie Guesthouses
Address: P.O. Box 133 | Koelenhof, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing