We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rivierbos Guest House
Ranked #48 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The ladies in reception are wonderful. They give 5 star service and yes they sit in a small office but they still so friendly. I can't say more about the Guest House please have a look at the decor you need something else.The staff made up for this. You girls are great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rishaad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbester002, Manager at Rivierbos Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear 5 star Service

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future at Rivierbos Guest House. Your comment on the service from the ladies have been passed on to all of them.

Best regards
Rivierbos Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

Lovely, quiet place to stay with helpful, friendly staff. Only a 5 minute walk from a great range of restaurants. Also a good base to hop to do other things e.g. a wine tour - which Reception can arrange for you.

Room Tip: Ask for main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbester002, Manager at Rivierbos Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to Rivierbos Guest House in the near future. We value your feedback.

Best regards
Rivierbos Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Stellenbosch
1
Reviewed 22 December 2012

PLUS:
- safe and secluded location, though close to city center (within walking direction)
- very clean
- friendly staff
MINUS:
- clairaudient due to poor isolation / old building
- very basic breakfast


  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbester002, Manager at Rivierbos Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to Rivierbos Guest House in the near future.. Your comment on the staff has been passed on to the team. We value your feedback.

Best regards
Rivierbos Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The girls at the reception were very helpful with our camera problem, laundry, booking a nice wine tour etc... Breakfast was ok, the usual eggs and bacon, muffins and toast. Rooms were ok, nice TV and huge bed.
Altogether the Guest House was - compared to many other places we stayed at in the country - average.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very relaxed and easy going ambiance - very clean and friendly staff, good breakfast. Rooms are small but doable and the cleanliness makes up for that. Well situated - walking distance from town, also safe parking.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The place is affordable and the staff is friendly but there is room for improvement.
The reception helped us with booking a great wine tour and ordering food that was very good.

The AC did not work in both rooms we booked, they told us it would be fixed tomorrow.

It was a very warm day and it was an uncomfortable night.

Breakfast was okay but nothing special there could be more variety in the buffet.

The rooms are quite roomy and the bathroom looks nice as well, however the water pressure was not always optimal.
The rooms were clean and the furniture was in fairly good condition.

Overall it was okay , but a working AC would make this a far better place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_dude_1984_Kees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbester002, Manager at Rivierbos Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, we value your feedback as it enables us to work on making the guest experience more pleasant.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the aircon not working in your room. We hope to welcome you back at Rivierbos Guest House in the near future.

Best Regards
Rivierbos Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Booked this accomadation based on the other trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed. We had a ground floor room directly in front of the pool area which had lovely views. The whole ambience of the place is very relaxed and informal. There is plenty of outside seating available where you can enjoy the gardens and bring in your own food and drinks.

We bought some delicious salad dishes and wine which we had on the patio area, the management will supply plate’s glasses and utensils on request. The friendly staffs only serve to enhance this delightful accommodation and I can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We booked the wine tasting tour through the guest house, who use a local tour operator Niel who was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWT20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home2wn, General Manager at Rivierbos Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Guest,

We always appreciate our guests' feedback and would like to thank you for
such a lovely comment. Rivierbos Guest House strives to deliver great
service and we are happy when guests enjoyed their stay with us so much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stellenbosch
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
946 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#80 of 112 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Life & Leisure Lifestyle Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Just Joey Guesthouse
Just Joey Guesthouse
#75 of 116 in Stellenbosch
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#32 of 116 in Stellenbosch
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivierbos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivierbos Guest House

Address: 1 Hamman Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £61 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivierbos Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivierbos Guest House is ideally located on the bank of the Eerste River in a quiet, leafy cul-de-sac off historic Dorp Street, in the heart of picturesque Stellenbosch. Numerous restaurants, cultural attractions, coffee shops, supermarkets, boutique shopping, cinemas, vibrant student nightlife and the Stellenbosch University campus are within a scenic 5-15 minute walk. If you are looking for centrally located, clean, affordable B&B accommodation in Stellenbosch, then you have found the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rivierbos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing