We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply good value for money at a beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pineta

La Pineta
Ranked #35 of 244 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply good value for money at a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The service and the food compete for accolades. it is difficult to choose which is best,

The menu is extensive and caters for all tastes, if true South African cuisine is what you enjoy. Fish cake, pear and walnut salad, carpaccio, etc. for starters, wind dried and aged steaks, oxtail. line fish, you name it as mains, and do not miss the Lindt Tart desert!

Add to the above the extensive wine list, beautiful sunset views of Table Mountain, friendly staff and management, and you will know that the money spent here is well worth the few kilometres trip to the location next to the Stellenbosch air field.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theo_and_Carine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    82
    21
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“For a relaxing treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of the good things is that "very little changes at La Pineta. The food is terrific; service is great and your friendly senior staff are always there to welcome you - it's like visiting family! We've been going there every time we visit South Africa and regard it as a 'treat' and a highlight of our dining experiences.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing quality and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I recently had the opportunity to ask La Pineta to cater for my birthday party. From the outset, the help, suggestions and advice was professional. I then received a menu, which consisted of a selection of 6 starters, main courses and desserts, which was incredible value for money.
Came the night, the ambience was set by the low lighting, candles and fire in the fireplace. Nothing was too much for the waiters, Clem and Lerina, and the owner, Andre, was on hand to help, though this was never necessary. Everyone who attended the party made a very positive comment about the food, service and venue. I would like to thank them for making a special event for me, a memorable night!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johannvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

A restaurant with an excellent location and wonderful views. Our food was cooked to perfection. The restaurant was full but we were not really aware of all the other people. Despite it being busy we did not have to wait long for our food to arrive. I was especially impressed with our waiter and am sorry that I did not get his name. He made us feel like friends and advised us about which wine would go best with our food. A really nice restaurant to try if you are in the vicinity. Make sure that you get proper directions if you are coming in from the Stellenbosch side, as you cannot then turn off to the restaurant directly from the main road.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elmarie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was our first visit to this restaurant and we were very surprised at the excellent food and location. We arrived early and did not have a booking, which is recommended. Located right next to a country airfield, you can view small planes flying overhead as you eat your meal. There is a fantastic view of the countryside and Table Mountain in the distance. The food is outstanding and something different. Definitely top quality food and in a class of it's own. Accommodates children with a lovely play area outside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClariceWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pineta also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to La Pineta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing