We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you both.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
Ranked #50 of 111 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thank you both.”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We spent a wonderful 4 nights here on our way back to C.T. Gwen and Johann were incredible hosts where nothing was too much trouble.You really felt with their care and advice that they wanted to make sure you had a great time.
The room was perfect and had a genuine 5 star feel about it.The Breakfast excellent with again 5 star service.The location could not be better being a 5 to 10 minute walk to the centre.
Once again thank you so much and Trip Ad. readers miss this one at your peril.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbytheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
61
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Look no further, you will not be disapointed with the accomodations, location or the outstanding service and hospitality provided by Gwen and Yohann. Lots of attention to detail and a very good breakfast! Would like to return just to see Gwen and Yohann again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jondeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GwenHugo, Owner at Aan Dorpstraat Guest House, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Friends,

Once again I am responding to the latest reviews collectively. Thank you all for the time you took to write them and for the very kind words. We do appreciate this very much indeed!

It has been a really wonderful summer season - with such memorable guests - and we are so happy to have made wonderful friends from all over the world, thanks largely to the kind reviews written by our guests.

We really hope that we shall see you in our wonderful country and town again in the near future.

Warm regards

Johan and Gwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We last stayed at Aan Dorpstraat for Christmas over 2 years ago. I'm glad to report that nothing has changed.

We received a very warm welcome from Gwen & Johan having driven straight here from CPT after our overnight flight from LHR. It takes less than 30 minutes so is a great place at which to either start or end your vacation.

We stayed in room #1 on the ground floor. It's a lovely cool & quiet room & we slept like logs on the extremely comfortable bed. Johan's poached eggs are still a work of art & come highly recommended. Gwen continues to provide useful local information & willingly assists in booking taxis & day trips. I can highly recommend a visit to the Villiera wine estate to see their new game reserve followed by a wine tasting.

Our 5 night stay was a great start to a latest SA vacation.

Room Tip: Room 1, cool & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Gwen and Johan are great hosts! The room was spacious and clean. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlopez71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This was our second stay at the Aan Dorpstraat. Once again we had a super two day stay with Gwen and Johan. We really couldn't fault it and yes, it certainly is 4 star luxury!

After our stay we spent 6 nights at Spier and to be honest, we wish we had booked for longer with Gwen and Johan.

We will definately return if we are lucky enough to go back to Southn Africa and would highly recommend the Aan Dorpstraat.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller from UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Gwen and Johan immediately make you feel at home.We were given a room in the loft which
was perfect.The breakfast is very good.Johan cooking and Gwen serving,good team.
Stellenbosch is a great place to stay with wonderful restaurants and interesting shops.
The hosts will give you good advice on where to eat,and also vineyard tours.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northiam, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Gwen and Johan are a great couple and made us feel at home immediately. They are excellent hosts and gave us lots of information on what to do and where to eat. The rooms are very well appointed and had lots of amenities. The breakfasts were great and Johan makes very good scrambled eggs! Stellenbosch is a lovely place to stay and has lots of interesting shops and good restaurants and is a good place to organise a wine tour. Gwen was very good at booking us on tours and into restaurants and we think they are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
De Hoek Manor
De Hoek Manor
#39 of 111 in Stellenbosch
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#51 of 111 in Stellenbosch
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vibe Guest Studios
The Vibe Guest Studios
#69 of 111 in Stellenbosch
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caledon Villa
Caledon Villa
#26 of 111 in Stellenbosch
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Grande Guest House
Villa Grande Guest House
#47 of 111 in Stellenbosch
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan Dorpstraat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan Dorpstraat Guest House

Property: Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
Address: 14 Papegaai Street | Twon Centre, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan Dorpstraat Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-Star luxury, B&B accommodation including air conditioning, internet, silent mini-bar fridges, filtered water, small swimming pool and secure parking. All rooms fully en-suite - some with bidets. Owners, Johan and Gwen offer warm hospitality and personal service. Located centrally. 2 - 10 minutes’ walk from great restaurants and business centre. Short drive to wine estates, golf course, beach and other attractions (30 km from Cape Town International Airport). No children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aan Dorpstraat Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing