We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, comfortable, safe and would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
Ranked #47 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Leeds, UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, comfortable, safe and would definitely return”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in December in Loft Room 7 booking direct on the guest houses website. Received a very prompt response confirming our booking, providing directions and offering assistance with transfers/tours if required which was very reassuring. This was our first location on our trip and it was very much appreciated that our request for an early check in was accommodated given our night flight from Heathrow.

Gwen was extremely informative and helpful when we checked in offering restaurant recommendations. We weren't sure if we wanted to pre book or just for go for a wander that evening and so texted her later that day and she kindly reserved the restaurant for us. What service!

The guest house is in a great location, it's a very short walk to Stellenbosch centre and was safe to walk around which was a big plus for us.

The pictures on the website were representative of the room. It was very clean and the bed was super comfortable. There have been comments on TA that the loft rooms get hot. Whilst this was true the AC was super effective at cooling the room. I am a light sleeper and the AC did not affect my sleep at all. There was a nice decking area with seats just outside the room which benefitted from the afternoon sun.

As other reviewers have commented the breakfast was very good and Gwen and Johan were very welcoming hosts. It was like staying with friends.

We booked this guest house on the strength of the reviews on TA and were not disappointed and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazza69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
61
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This B&B was in a brilliant location, very secure, extremely clean and Johan & Gwen were incredibly hospitable and at breakfast, Johan's eggs we excellent! If you would like any recommendations of restaurants or local providers, they are more than happy to help. They also went out of their way to accommodate our early arrival at the guest house. We were a party of 4 and they were always happy to join us in conversation and wine. Thank you for a great four days. Steve, Nicki, Dan & Alex from West Sussex, England

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I stayed in Aan Dorpstraat guesthouse for five nights and really enjoyed it. Everything is so neatly taken care of and Gwen and Johan were both friendly, helpful and interesting people to talk with. I only had breakfast one morning since I was always off very early but it was very good. Rooms are much larger than they seem on the website.

Just one thing: Wifi was quite slow but I must say it is everywhere i come in SA.
And just a tiny one: I can't see it would bother anyone if smoking was allowed on the upper terrasse.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soeren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We absoultley loved staying with Gwen and Johann at Aan Dorpstraat.

The accomodation is superb, some of the nicest rooms we have stayed in in South Africa, made very special by Gwen's attention to even the tiniest detail in the rooms. There is not one thing she hasn't thought of - even down to lovely little bottles of bath crystals for the super Victorian style roll top bath in our bathroom!

The Guest Huse location is ideal for a wine tasting trip and also for a stay in Stellenbosch as it is just off the main road and a safe walk to where there are a number of lovely restaurants to try.

Gwen and Johan are 2 of the very best hosts we have ever stayed with and to say that Gwen is relentless once she gets her teeth into something, is an understatement!! We only mentioned we had lost our camera in Durban and thought we knew where, to her and she immediately got on to it - locating it for us after a couple of phone calls and arranging it to be couriered out to our next stop in Camps Bay for us. She even rang round and got an amazing deal on the courier service and finally made sure that Rob, the manager, in Camps Bay was Ok to receive the parcel. We were successfully reunited with our camera and more importantly our amazing photos of wildlife in Kruger National Park, as we drove into the drive of our guest house in Camps Bay. Added to this Gwen recommended 2 restaurants for our 2 nights and vineyards for our wine tasting all of which were superb - not one thing we would change!!!

So - what a place and and what a couple of wonderful new friends - we will certainly be returning for another stay when we visit South Arica again in a couple of years time -

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We returned to Aan Dorpstraat this year with friends having stayed there back in March 2011. If you want a B&B where the owners give you a warm welcome, treat you as friends and are happy to talk to you about their country, town, experiences etc., then Aan Dorpstraat is certainly the place for you.

Gwen and Johan are true hosts and and very eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible, so if you need anything from restaurant recommendations to a G&T, Gwen & Johann are very happy to help and nothing is a problem for them.

Aan Dorpstraat is super clean and very comfortable, you're not going to find hairs in your wash basin or fraying bed linen, this place is kept in tip-top condition. Bedrooms are still as bright and airy as they were back in 2011 with all the mod-cons and comforts you need.

Breakfast is definitely a highlight and still one of the best I had in South Africa. Aan Dorpstraat has an open plan kitchen/breakfast area so while Johan cooks your breakfast to order (and he does this superbly) and Gwen manages the buffet, coffee and teas, it's the perfect opportunity to chat to your hosts about everything and anything. Breakfast is a truly social occassion so if you're a grump in the morning who prefers a bad cup of coffee and no conversation, you'll not care for Aan Dorpstraat nor Gwen & Johan.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iPotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We spent a really enjoyable week at Aan Dorpstraat in July and were incredibly well-looked after by Gwen and Johan. Very comfortable and contemporary room, with all mod-cons! We would love to come and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandAlSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We spent a wonderful 4 nights here on our way back to C.T. Gwen and Johann were incredible hosts where nothing was too much trouble.You really felt with their care and advice that they wanted to make sure you had a great time.
The room was perfect and had a genuine 5 star feel about it.The Breakfast excellent with again 5 star service.The location could not be better being a 5 to 10 minute walk to the centre.
Once again thank you so much and Trip Ad. readers miss this one at your peril.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbytheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
0.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#13 of 112 in Stellenbosch
296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
347 reviews
2.8 mi away
Weltevreden Estate
Weltevreden Estate
#44 of 112 in Stellenbosch
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan Dorpstraat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan Dorpstraat Guest House

Property: Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
Address: 14 Papegaai Street | Twon Centre, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan Dorpstraat Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-Star luxury, B&B accommodation including air conditioning, internet, silent mini-bar fridges, filtered water, small swimming pool and secure parking. All rooms fully en-suite - some with bidets. Owners, Johan and Gwen offer warm hospitality and personal service. Located centrally. 2 - 10 minutes’ walk from great restaurants and business centre. Short drive to wine estates, golf course, beach and other attractions (30 km from Cape Town International Airport). No children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aan Dorpstraat Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing