We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
Ranked #52 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This was the third year staying at the Aan Dorpstraat. As usual we had a wonderful time with Gwen and Johan and standards are as high as ever. Johan's breakfasts are always a highlight of our holidays...cooked to order eggs and bacon and home made bread. Delicious. The staff are friendly and helpful and the guest house is always spotless. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Stellenbosch and can highly recommend the Aan Dorpstraat. Thank you Gwen and Johan for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller from UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

What an excellent visit - as always! Not my first and definitely not my last either.
Gwen and Johan are incredibly friendly and hospitable and have the knack of making everyone welcome, comfortable and special. Not only that but they are extremely knowledgeable about the area and able to make exciting and useful recommendations.
The rooms are great, the breakfast delicious and the location is perfect.
Many thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This was our second visit to Aandorpstraat. Our previous stay was with another couple and this time - one year on - we decided to go back with our parents. Our stay had been so good the first time, it was a great relief when we knew that Gwen and Johan could accommodate our parents in extreme comfort on the ground floor. Our second stay lived up to our extremely high expectations. Gwen and Johan are fantastic hosts and make everyone feel instantly at home. Johan's breakfast is a highlight of every day - the fruit salads, freshly baked bread, cooked breakfast to order and lots of chat. The location is ideal as you can walk out the door of the guesthouse and within 5-10 minutes there are a whole host of restaurants and cafes which are suitable for all times of day. And as always, Gwen is only too delighted to help with bookings, recommendations, directions etc. I was worried that 6 nights would be too long in one place but there were so many places we hadn't visited during our first stay (as well as places we wanted to return to) it was actually lovely to stay in one place for a bit longer. I also have to thank Gwen for getting me an appointment with her hairdresser, Robyn - best haircut I've had in ages! Many, many thanks to Gwen, Johan and the whole team at Aandorpstraat for the most perfect stay. I know we'll be back.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms had easy access for our elderly parents who are not so able to contend with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in December in Loft Room 7 booking direct on the guest houses website. Received a very prompt response confirming our booking, providing directions and offering assistance with transfers/tours if required which was very reassuring. This was our first location on our trip and it was very much appreciated that our request for an early check in was accommodated given our night flight from Heathrow.

Gwen was extremely informative and helpful when we checked in offering restaurant recommendations. We weren't sure if we wanted to pre book or just for go for a wander that evening and so texted her later that day and she kindly reserved the restaurant for us. What service!

The guest house is in a great location, it's a very short walk to Stellenbosch centre and was safe to walk around which was a big plus for us.

The pictures on the website were representative of the room. It was very clean and the bed was super comfortable. There have been comments on TA that the loft rooms get hot. Whilst this was true the AC was super effective at cooling the room. I am a light sleeper and the AC did not affect my sleep at all. There was a nice decking area with seats just outside the room which benefitted from the afternoon sun.

As other reviewers have commented the breakfast was very good and Gwen and Johan were very welcoming hosts. It was like staying with friends.

We booked this guest house on the strength of the reviews on TA and were not disappointed and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fazza69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This B&B was in a brilliant location, very secure, extremely clean and Johan & Gwen were incredibly hospitable and at breakfast, Johan's eggs we excellent! If you would like any recommendations of restaurants or local providers, they are more than happy to help. They also went out of their way to accommodate our early arrival at the guest house. We were a party of 4 and they were always happy to join us in conversation and wine. Thank you for a great four days. Steve, Nicki, Dan & Alex from West Sussex, England

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I stayed in Aan Dorpstraat guesthouse for five nights and really enjoyed it. Everything is so neatly taken care of and Gwen and Johan were both friendly, helpful and interesting people to talk with. I only had breakfast one morning since I was always off very early but it was very good. Rooms are much larger than they seem on the website.

Just one thing: Wifi was quite slow but I must say it is everywhere i come in SA.
And just a tiny one: I can't see it would bother anyone if smoking was allowed on the upper terrasse.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soeren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We absoultley loved staying with Gwen and Johann at Aan Dorpstraat.

The accomodation is superb, some of the nicest rooms we have stayed in in South Africa, made very special by Gwen's attention to even the tiniest detail in the rooms. There is not one thing she hasn't thought of - even down to lovely little bottles of bath crystals for the super Victorian style roll top bath in our bathroom!

The Guest Huse location is ideal for a wine tasting trip and also for a stay in Stellenbosch as it is just off the main road and a safe walk to where there are a number of lovely restaurants to try.

Gwen and Johan are 2 of the very best hosts we have ever stayed with and to say that Gwen is relentless once she gets her teeth into something, is an understatement!! We only mentioned we had lost our camera in Durban and thought we knew where, to her and she immediately got on to it - locating it for us after a couple of phone calls and arranging it to be couriered out to our next stop in Camps Bay for us. She even rang round and got an amazing deal on the courier service and finally made sure that Rob, the manager, in Camps Bay was Ok to receive the parcel. We were successfully reunited with our camera and more importantly our amazing photos of wildlife in Kruger National Park, as we drove into the drive of our guest house in Camps Bay. Added to this Gwen recommended 2 restaurants for our 2 nights and vineyards for our wine tasting all of which were superb - not one thing we would change!!!

So - what a place and and what a couple of wonderful new friends - we will certainly be returning for another stay when we visit South Arica again in a couple of years time -

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
423 reviews
1 mi away
Hazelwood House
Hazelwood House
#45 of 115 in Stellenbosch
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#4 of 115 in Stellenbosch
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caledon Villa
Caledon Villa
#25 of 115 in Stellenbosch
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#12 of 115 in Stellenbosch
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baruch Guest House
Baruch Guest House
#14 of 115 in Stellenbosch
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan Dorpstraat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan Dorpstraat Guest House

Address: 14 Papegaai Street | Twon Centre, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £93 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan Dorpstraat Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-Star luxury, B&B accommodation including air conditioning, internet, silent mini-bar fridges, filtered water, small swimming pool and secure parking. All rooms fully en-suite - some with bidets. Owners, Johan and Gwen offer warm hospitality and personal service. Located centrally. 2 - 10 minutes’ walk from great restaurants and business centre. Short drive to wine estates, golf course, beach and other attractions (30 km from Cape Town International Airport). No children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aan Dorpstraat Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing