We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Hoilday - Thanks Papyrus!”
Review of Papyrus Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papyrus Lodge
Ranked #83 of 111 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Dream Hoilday - Thanks Papyrus!”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I was attracted to papyrus from its beautiful pictures on the website and its general location.I was exceedingly happy to see that Papyrus Lodge did not disappoint, it was like it was on the pictures only better. We were blessed by beautiful weather which made it even more breathtaking. We stayed in a small wooden chalets overlooking the lake. With a wonderful sunset view over the lake with Table mountain in the distance - it was the perfect place to relax with a local red wine and enjoy the sunset. Although it is winter the weather was warm with blue skies. We spent our days visiting the various attractions in the area. Just 15 min away from the beautiful sandy beaches in Strand in one direction and 15min in the other direction we were in the centre of Stellenbosch, the heart of the local wine industry. Both did not disappoint. With restaurants, several golf courses, wine estates, horse riding, mountain walks and shopping facilities just minutes away. The best part was the day trips we could take. Papyrus Lodge is 5 min away from the N2 highway, but you would never guess it as it is so quiet and serene. The N2 takes you to Cape Town city centre in half an hour, where we went to the waterfront, the beautifully restored old harbor full of shops, restaurants and a host of other activities. Then the next dat to Stellenbosch then to Franschoek for lunch, then over the mountain to the apple groves in Elgin, followed by the most spectacular drive from Hermanus back to Papyrus lodge along the coastal road. We were hoping to see some whales but were informed by the friendly and knowledgeable owner of Papyrus that the whales only arrive in September. Looks like we will have to come again. Apparently in september the semi desert (the Karoo), which is about an hour away, blooms with millions of flowers and is a sight to be seen!

I found the accommodation and the surrounding gardens wonderful and well kept. The breakfast was incredible with everything one wants. The service was friendly and the rooms are well kept and clean, with good comfortable beds. I was very happy with everything and felt that the price was perfect value for money. I can only recommend Papyrus Lodge and its surroundings as it is the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of the city (yet have the advantage of its proximity to the city and the international airport) whilst living in the splendid surroundings of the Stellenbosch winelands. Papyrus will not disappoint!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamGandberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    4
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Having been in South Africa for the World Cup was just absolutely awesome. To experience the hospitality and the friendliness of these people was a privilege. We have found Papyrus Lodge on the internet and it was just the perfect location for us. To be able to get into Cape Town within 30 minutes and enjoy all the excitment there and return to this island of peace and beauty was just great. As mentioned above, indescribable! We stayed in one of the suites in the Lodge. Absolutely exquisit! Beautifully decorated. The evenings were really cold and we appreciated the fact that the rooms were very well heated, with underfloor heating in the bathroom and best of all a cozy fireplace to enjoy in the evenings. We had a marvellous stay. The breakfast was outstanding, with a ceackling fire going in the fireplace every morning, thank you Stefan. We so enjoyed your hospitality and the many useful tipps you gave us. We will surely be back and wish you many more happy guests to come.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank peggyvisserfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Papyrus is in the perfect location. Close to the International Airport, beaches, Stellenbosch winelands and great local restaurants. Papyrus boasts unspoiled views of magnificent wine farms and the majestic Helderberg mountain

Take the owners advice and book a table at the 96 Winery Rd restaurant, which is literally across the road. Repeatedly voted one of the top restaurants in South Africa. It serves excellent local food with a continental flair and has a great atmosphere.

Although we did not travel with children, we could see that this place would excite any young family. Papyrus has more children's activities than most places we have visited. Apart from a climbing frame, the old broken tractor and the trampoline, the lake is clean and lovely to swim in.

We were welcomed warmly by the proprietor and owner, who turned out to be friendly and excellent hosts. We were given advice on places of interest and wine farms we should visit. All of their advice turned out great and we feel that the local knowledge given enabled us to make the most of every day we spent at Papyrus.

Papyrus offers 2 types of accommodation. In general the rooms feel safe,
clean, comfortable and spacious. The chalets overlooking lake have a spectacular sunset view from veranda, with table mountain silhouetted on the horizon.
The superior suites are located in the main manor house, each with their own private entrance and veranda. A nice touch for international visitors is that every room receives TV channels in German.

The rooms are beautifully thought out, every room has a kitchenette unit which has all the facilities to cater for ones-self. The finishes and fittings are of top quality and most importantly the owners have not saved on mattresses. I slept amazingly every night.

breakfast is served on garden terrace over looking the beautiful gardens leading down to the lake. There is a great variety available at breakfast. There is an excellent continental breakfast spread and if you feel like an English Breakfast, the staff will skillfully prepare it to order.

All in all Papyrus is great value for money, and a special place for anyone looking for tranquility and luxury. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. I highly recommend Papyrus Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertbeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Cannot praise this establishment highly enough! From the friendly welcome, the spacious and comfortable rooms to the excellent breakfast personally cooked by the owner, what more could you want. The setting is idyllic with rooms on the water's edge and they seemed to have an answer for everything we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble and a 1st class restaurant right across the road. In short, perfect - we had a dream stay. Thank you Stefan & Kristin - we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asakj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2010

....A magical place! Definitely THE PLACe to go in the Stellenbosch Winelands! Relaxing, charming and extremely beautiful. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. The whole atmosphere was very peaceful, the rooms exclusive and stunningly decorated with attention to every detail. Outstanding service and friendly staff. We could not recommend this Lodge highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janineglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gazlyn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The price is certainly steep -especially for locals and I think the chalets do not live up to overseas visitors ideas of luxury -ideal maybe as ahoneymoon or romantic week-end away but why have two single beds pushed together?
the hospitality boxes allowed for one cup of coffee only -would have been nice to have stock for the evening and morning -we had to by milk as the milk powder sachets were 7 months past the expiry date

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This is a very beautiful, romantic spot, with luxurious and beautifully designed rooms. We tried very hard to like it, and we liked a lot about it, but it wasn't for us. We stayed with our 5 year old son for two nights. While the owners have tried to focus on children by building a fabulous play area with swings, slides, a playhouse on stilts, we felt that it wasn't really a place for children. And it wasn't really for us, either. All the other guests were a bit older than us and spoke German. The owners didn't introduce themselves to us, preferring instead to chat in German to the other guests. And additional TV channels in the rooms were in German. The lake is lovely to swim in, but our legs were covered in small leeches when we got out and they were a bit tricky to remove in the shower. Our room in the main building (not on the lake) was stunningly designed with beautiful and top quality fittings. But the kitchenette area was poorly positioned so that the cabinet with the fridge was right next to the bedside table so the fridge hummed in my ear all night (although the bed was fantastically comfortable). My only other gripe is that it is expensive, and that the full cost of the stay was due two weeks before we even arrived. This was the only place in our two week tour of South Africa that did this.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,853 reviews
12.6 mi away
Lumley's Place
Lumley's Place
#1 of 1 in Pniel
87 reviews
7.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
872 reviews
7.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
393 reviews
9.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papyrus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papyrus Lodge

Property: Papyrus Lodge
Address: Winery Road, Stellenbosch 7135, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic and unusual destination. At Papyrus Lodge, visitors are surrounded by infinite natural beauty! A serene papyrus fringed lake with stylish chalets on stilts, a rowing boat at its moorings and the backdrop of the magnificient Helderberg mountains. Situated in the winelands between Stellenbosch and Somerset West. Apart from the romantic chalets, the elegant lodge offers exclusive and spacious 5 star suites with private garden terraces and stunning views over the park-like gardens. Peace, style and beauty, Papyrus Lodge offers it all. A place guest return year after year.Just half an hour from Cape Town international airport, but far away from pressure of city life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing