We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
438
98
41
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
98
41
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelaire graffgolf buggystunning viewscomplimentary mini barinfinity poolsauvignon blanccape townour honeymoonheaven on earthmain buildingsmall hotelsurrounding mountainsrooms are spaciousbeautiful placeunderfloor heatingsouth africaboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the Clouds estate as part of a 2 week trip to South Africa and would definitely stay there again. The view from the splendid Villa is amazing and all the staff were excellent as are the estate amenities that are very well designed and laid out.

Although the estate only provides breakfast (which is also excellent), there are a number of nice restaurants in the area should you want to eat out or if your prefer to eat in the villa's are well equipped for this as well.

I would recommend Clouds to anyone wanting to stay in the wine region.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here last week and thoroughly enjoyed the two night stay. Situated about ten minutes outside Stellenbosch, it's idea for travelling around the wine estates. The views from Clouds are fantastic, the property is well run and the staff are helpful. I would not quite give it five stars as it does lack a few things that bring it up to that standard, but it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Cloud Estate was a bit of a gamble for us....except for the fact that we were referred by an amazing boutique hotel in camps bay:) - The Pod. We did no research essentially and went on faith! We arrived to our "self accommodating villa" (that means bring some groceries if ur travelling that way) No worries however because breakfasts are amazing ...lunch accommodations are avail...and the Monday night dinner we booked (dinners only sun and mon) was fab....and with Tokara (world famous winery and amazing restaurant) across the street...they were booked for a month so we didnt get in...BUT....Marika the concierge got us into Delaire Graff Estate ( yes it's next door and you get to go in a golf cart thru the "back door" past the heli pad:) and all I can say is that I was quoted as saying (after way too much amazing wine) that this was the best meal of my life...several courses...wow.! We did book a private wine tour....so many to recommend but Babylonsteeren...way above the rest...mostly locals...organic farm...Babel is their world famous rest (closed when we went) but the greenhouse lunch was authentic, beautiful and preety durn world class also,.Back to.Clouds: amazing...the views are unparalleled...literally "pinch me ...am I really here?" Especially at sunset ....the 2 pools are lovely...the estate is very exclusive and quiet!!! They can book anything you need and the staff is very friendly...and the value...to this Texas brain...was phenomenal. I found it extremely competitive cost-wise....also free internet, not always a given in this country:) they also have their own wines which arrive in seconds upon ordering and are lovely:)

Room Tip: Villas are separate and self accommodating...the hotel is very close...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a fantastic property and we feel terrible to rate the service as a 1. Everybody, ladies in the rooms, male manager and chef was amazing but the female manager should not be in hospitality. When we asked for basic things and services, she was short and unhelpful. Food, rooms and views are amazing. Dinner at Tokara wonderful ! Will consider going back if management improves.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jyta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

In three weeks of our road trip across SA it was the best, in every single dimension, place we stayed. The impecable design, the views from the rooms, the room's high spec finish, breakfast... you name it! Ps we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvanbreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews