We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
438
98
41
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
98
41
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelaire graffgolf buggystunning viewscomplimentary mini barinfinity poolsauvignon blanccape townour honeymoonheaven on earthmain buildingsmall hotelsurrounding mountainsrooms are spaciousbeautiful placeunderfloor heatingsouth africaboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent a delightful evening at Clouds Estate, definitely the most luxurious place we've been in our tour of South Africa! We were greeted warmly, almost immediately given a large glass of rosé and sat in some comfortable chairs sipping the wine and enjoying the spectacular view down the valley.
Our room was tastefully decorated, nicely laid out and had a great vista over some of their vineyards and the surrounding hills. We were booked in for dinner at another nearby estate, and the Clouds staff drove us there in a golf buggy - we felt like celebs!
Breakfast the next morning was delicious, a mixture of continental and hot food of our choice. We went to Clouds on the recommendation of some friends who've lived in SA for years, and would definitely echo their recommendation. A small error over the payment for staying there was dealt with courteously and quickly by their staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the middle of the winefields.

Rooms are very nicely designed and so is the rest of the hotel. Loved all the moooi furniture.

Make sure you order (or bring home) the clouds wine, very tasty.

Service is good but a bit not very personal.

You need a car to get to stellbosch centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgiteva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent 2 wonderful days at Clouds Estate. Recommend at all because everything was perfect. Starting with the gorgeous design and modern décor adopted. The view is beautiful and prime location, close to great wineries, next to a nice restaurant (Delaire Graff) and practically in front of the Tokara. Breakfast of excellent quality, very well decorated with modern materials and products could already see bedrooms, a Nespresso machine available in rooms, great bathroom, lovely pool (bring swimsuits), beautiful tub in the room, the service and service has generally been of the highest level. Fully recommended and when you return to South Africa back to staying with them. Note 10 with praise!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the Clouds estate as part of a 2 week trip to South Africa and would definitely stay there again. The view from the splendid Villa is amazing and all the staff were excellent as are the estate amenities that are very well designed and laid out.

Although the estate only provides breakfast (which is also excellent), there are a number of nice restaurants in the area should you want to eat out or if your prefer to eat in the villa's are well equipped for this as well.

I would recommend Clouds to anyone wanting to stay in the wine region.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here last week and thoroughly enjoyed the two night stay. Situated about ten minutes outside Stellenbosch, it's idea for travelling around the wine estates. The views from Clouds are fantastic, the property is well run and the staff are helpful. I would not quite give it five stars as it does lack a few things that bring it up to that standard, but it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews