We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay in Stellenbosch ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

finally we have found an hotel in Stellenbosch we love and will go back to. hotel is beautiful, with fancy mooi furniture. garden overlooking the valley with breathtaking views. very cosy swimming pool / outside lounge area where you could spend the entire afternoon without seeing the time pass by. rooms are big and super clean, very elegantly decorated and with all modern appliances; the bed is very comfortable with prime quality sheets; your mini bar is filled with complimentaty water, wine, nuts and sweets. breakfast is fresh, varied and yummi (try to smoothie of the day :-o). not sure whether they serve lunch and dinner at Clouds but you have plenty of alternatives nearby (i.e. Delaire Graff is just a golf cart ride away). it is an expensive place but well worth a visit! we will for sure return and bring friends along.

Room Tip: upstairs in order to avoid the noise from reception and lounge area!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VBNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent a delightful evening at Clouds Estate, definitely the most luxurious place we've been in our tour of South Africa! We were greeted warmly, almost immediately given a large glass of rosé and sat in some comfortable chairs sipping the wine and enjoying the spectacular view down the valley.
Our room was tastefully decorated, nicely laid out and had a great vista over some of their vineyards and the surrounding hills. We were booked in for dinner at another nearby estate, and the Clouds staff drove us there in a golf buggy - we felt like celebs!
Breakfast the next morning was delicious, a mixture of continental and hot food of our choice. We went to Clouds on the recommendation of some friends who've lived in SA for years, and would definitely echo their recommendation. A small error over the payment for staying there was dealt with courteously and quickly by their staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the middle of the winefields.

Rooms are very nicely designed and so is the rest of the hotel. Loved all the moooi furniture.

Make sure you order (or bring home) the clouds wine, very tasty.

Service is good but a bit not very personal.

You need a car to get to stellbosch centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgiteva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent 2 wonderful days at Clouds Estate. Recommend at all because everything was perfect. Starting with the gorgeous design and modern décor adopted. The view is beautiful and prime location, close to great wineries, next to a nice restaurant (Delaire Graff) and practically in front of the Tokara. Breakfast of excellent quality, very well decorated with modern materials and products could already see bedrooms, a Nespresso machine available in rooms, great bathroom, lovely pool (bring swimsuits), beautiful tub in the room, the service and service has generally been of the highest level. Fully recommended and when you return to South Africa back to staying with them. Note 10 with praise!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the Clouds estate as part of a 2 week trip to South Africa and would definitely stay there again. The view from the splendid Villa is amazing and all the staff were excellent as are the estate amenities that are very well designed and laid out.

Although the estate only provides breakfast (which is also excellent), there are a number of nice restaurants in the area should you want to eat out or if your prefer to eat in the villa's are well equipped for this as well.

I would recommend Clouds to anyone wanting to stay in the wine region.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here last week and thoroughly enjoyed the two night stay. Situated about ten minutes outside Stellenbosch, it's idea for travelling around the wine estates. The views from Clouds are fantastic, the property is well run and the staff are helpful. I would not quite give it five stars as it does lack a few things that bring it up to that standard, but it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Cloud Estate was a bit of a gamble for us....except for the fact that we were referred by an amazing boutique hotel in camps bay:) - The Pod. We did no research essentially and went on faith! We arrived to our "self accommodating villa" (that means bring some groceries if ur travelling that way) No worries however because breakfasts are amazing ...lunch accommodations are avail...and the Monday night dinner we booked (dinners only sun and mon) was fab....and with Tokara (world famous winery and amazing restaurant) across the street...they were booked for a month so we didnt get in...BUT....Marika the concierge got us into Delaire Graff Estate ( yes it's next door and you get to go in a golf cart thru the "back door" past the heli pad:) and all I can say is that I was quoted as saying (after way too much amazing wine) that this was the best meal of my life...several courses...wow.! We did book a private wine tour....so many to recommend but Babylonsteeren...way above the rest...mostly locals...organic farm...Babel is their world famous rest (closed when we went) but the greenhouse lunch was authentic, beautiful and preety durn world class also,.Back to.Clouds: amazing...the views are unparalleled...literally "pinch me ...am I really here?" Especially at sunset ....the 2 pools are lovely...the estate is very exclusive and quiet!!! They can book anything you need and the staff is very friendly...and the value...to this Texas brain...was phenomenal. I found it extremely competitive cost-wise....also free internet, not always a given in this country:) they also have their own wines which arrive in seconds upon ordering and are lovely:)

Room Tip: Villas are separate and self accommodating...the hotel is very close...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
888 reviews
9.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,876 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
624 reviews
1.1 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
0.6 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds Wine & Guest Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Wine & Guest Estate

Address: Helshoogte Road, Stellenbosch 7560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £164 - £534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clouds Wine & Guest Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the world's most beautiful mountain passes, Clouds Wine and Guest Estate is one of the jewels of Helshoogte. The relatively small, private estate is a working farm that produces its own wines. It also offers premium guest accommodation that blends designer luxury with all the modcons. A stylish destination surrounded by incredible views, a stay at Clouds is difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clouds Wine & Guest Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing