We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, twice in one trip”

Delaire Graff Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 248 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Delaire restaurant is situated at the winery and overlooks the Franschhoek valley. It offers approachable fine food with fresh and vibrant flavours. Guests are able to dine on the terrace under a canopy of pin oak trees or within the spectacular interiors designed by the interior architect and decorator David Collins, whilst enjoying the breathtaking views Delaire allows of the Stellenbosch Valley and Mountains. The signature dishes include: Pickled Beetroot Carpaccio with goat's cheese fritters; Crayfish Lasagne with king oyster mushrooms; Pistachio Nougat served with rose geranium ice cream.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow, twice in one trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed next door at Clouds and ate twice at Delaire Graff estate, including once at the Graff and once at Indochine. At both the food was exceptional as indeed was the service. Fantastic wine suggestions, and a perfect dinner capped off the perfect evening at this estate that has wonderful art everywhere, making taking a walk before dinner delightful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven_Rosalind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,178
    252
    106
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This restaurant has been on my list of places to visit for a while and I finally had the pleasure of having lunch at Delaire Graff on a beautiful sunny day. We sat outside and the view is spectacular! The lunch menu has a nice variety and everything was delicious. The staff is also very friendly and helpful! Book in advance!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tishaf243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful vineyard, the views and surroundings are breathtaking. We didn't do the wine tasting here, but it looked very good. We had a meal at the restaurant and watched the sunset. The food was superb, very fine dining and excellent staff. It was my mums birthday when we went there and they brought out a special birthday cake for her. If you like fine dining and want to be in a lovely setting this is the place. Prices are excellent for the quality of the food and service. We paid around £35pp and we had staters, main and alcohol.

Helpful?
Thank VickyFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Came to dinner here from the neighbouring Clouds Estate and had the seven course taster menu, with the wine option, for my husband. Unfortunately, one of the recommended wines was not to my husband's taste, but there was no problem at all in changing it. Our waiters, Tonelle and Richard, were lovely - good conversationalists as well as being very attentive. On the whole the meal was fantastic, at least six of the seven courses were - we were just very disappointed with the final dessert (chocolate, what's not to love about that) which was very heavy and bitter at the end of what had been a delicious meal. That said, we would still go again!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boo And Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning...food, wine, view and diamonds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

One of the highlights of our trip to SA!

Everything was amazing.. From the meet and greet, layout, menu, wine! Recommend you book early as unable to get booked for dinner but managed a lunch reservation. On reflection I think if I was to back I would go for lunch again as you were able to absorb the setting and views!

Food was stunning, every course, presentation, flavours, composition of the dishes... Wine pairing perfect and staff so helpful. Head chef came out and introduced himself and had a chat, waiter had passed on my compliments about the dish, unexpected and a lovely touch!

So many highly recommended restaurants in the area however I think Delaire Graff has something special to offer!

Helpful?
Thank NMC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delaire Graff Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Delaire Graff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing