We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of internal theft!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Ranked #15 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Friendly owners, modern amenities,amazing bathroom and great breakfast.....
But beware of internal theft. We only discovered our~ 600USD stolen from our suitcases upon our home coming. Monitor your items of value with you always!!!!!!!! (INFORM PREMISES NOT TO CLEAN YOUR ROOM UNLESS REQUESTED) PATRONISE AT YOUR OWN RISK! We work for an International airline and have visited most major cities around the world, nothing of such has ever occurred. Lest we expect matters of such happening in this small family run operation. It totally tarnished the touristic image of stellenbosch;to our great disgust! >>>>WE ARE APPALLED BY SUCH BOLDNESS>>>>>

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigfatrat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papsak, Owner at Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2010

Dear Readers,
We were informed about the theft by the guest when they arrived back home. We take these matters very seriously. You have to take in account though that there is not much that can be done long after a suspected theft. We do however clean all rooms as a standard service to all our guests and don’t have this problem generally. We were at no stage requested not to service the room as the guest indicates in the review. We are in the position now to report that we have identified the thief and needless to say the person is no longer in our employ. Although we don’t deny the loss the guest suffered, we did point out to them that the room is equipped with a safe and that it would be best to keep valuables in the room. We hope that you will be able to read all in context. Regards Philip Gous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2010

I would recommend this beautiful place to anyone. If you can afford it get one of the deluxe rooms as our friends had a smaller room which wasnt as nice as ours. The hosts are warm and welcoming and Gail goes out of her way to assist her guests. I'd love to go back.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank swellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This is a super place to stay and very professionally run with a lot of care and class. Situated just off a main road 10 minutes drive outside Stellenbosch on one of the area's smallest wine estates.

There are four or five 'vinyard rooms' and two 'de lux' rooms which we didn't view. The vinyard rooms are well equiped have flat screen tv's, excellent shower rooms with good quality toiletries and (shared) balcony or stoep. Only gripe was the minimal storage space. Best vinyard rooms are at the back overlooking the vines. The front have splendid views but are marred just a little by having the main road at the end of the drive although don't let that put you off.

Philip and Gail, the owners are very helpful and staff are delightful. Breakfast is served in the stylish restaurant area and was superb. Fruits, cereals, yogurts etc and good cooked breakfasts to order that included well cooked scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. On warm mornings you can sit outside by the carp pond. The restaurant is open at lunchtimes most days and in the evenings when there is a function (guests are invited to join in). Philip has only been producing wines since 2006 and released the first batch in 2008 but already is getting excellent reviews. You can taste the wines in the beautiful underground tasting rooms and visit the maturation cellar.

Minor downsides are the small pool, lack of storage in the rooms and the proximity of the main road but there are many more plusses which outway these by a mile. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BucksGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

This is a guest house, as such it's more of a B&B then a standard hotel. The Lovane was located very close to the downtown stellenbosch and easily close to all the wonderful vineyards and estates.

We had a nicely appointed room. A flat screen TV, small desk, closet, and comfortable bed. The bathroom did not have a tub, but an adequate shower was there. The wine estate yards were pretty. Breakfast was served from 8am-10am. There aren't many people in this guest house so it's very quaint/nice. All rooms have some view of the vine yards. As breakfast was included, it included the usual fresh fruits, yogurt, cereal, toast, cheese, and meats. A hot english breakfast was also available as well (eggs, bacon, tomato, sausage as well).

You definitely need to hire a car to get to this place, but then again you will need to hire a car to get to any of the vineyards if you so choose. Nearby, there are small miniplazas with supermarkets and grocery stores for self-caterers. There is a small bar fridge, but no cooking or microwave facilities.

This is a real gem and quite popular with locals and others. It's probably only a matter of time before more people find out. I was actually hesitating to write a review as afraid that the more people found out about this place, the more crowded it'd get. one down side, they charge for wi-fi.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekkersocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Lovely setting and good location. Amazing food and lovely wine (do the tasting). Drove straight from airport to Lovane for the start of our 12 day holiday. Stayed 1st and 2nd Jan and was absolutely thrilled with our choice. We have been to the wine region 3 times and there are lots of guest houses to choose from. This is definitely at the top of my list and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryandRogerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Lovane was a fantastic place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. Incredibly welcoming and helpful hosts, very comfortable and beautifully decorated, modern rooms, a lovely breakfast, and a great setting. We stayed for two nights but I would happily have remained there for weeks! This vineyard only produces a few hundred bottles of wine a year, spends nothing on advertising it and sells it all to guests and to visitors off the street. The hosts are happy to arrange off-the-cuff tastings with guests, and I certainly brought a few bottles home afterwards. Not only was it great staying there but the hosts were amazing about recommending where to go for tastings and lunch, and they organised our evenings dinners for us over email weeks before we came out. In consequence we had delicious gourmet experiences at Haute Cabriere one night and Cuvee at Simonsig the next.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardMHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Loved the location of this wine estate, within a 10minute drive of Stellenbosch. Every direction offered some stunning scenary. The rooms were well appointed, and had excellent facilities, especially in the bathroom (one of the best showers I have used!) Staff were helpful in organising a private wine tour. Breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wazoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#21 of 115 in Stellenbosch
242 reviews
3.2 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#4 of 115 in Stellenbosch
460 reviews
4.5 mi away
Webersburg
Webersburg
#20 of 115 in Stellenbosch
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House

Address: M12, Polkadraai Road | Vlottenburg, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £75 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guesthouse is an independant 4-star accommodation gem in the Winelands. Situated on a working wine farm, the guesthouse has 16 well-equipped rooms. Enjoy breakfast in summer on the deck outside, while enjoying the beautiful vineyard views. Cosy up infront of the fireplace in winter - enjoying some of our estate wines (including cabernet sauvignon, cabernet franc and petit verdot varietals). Now offering our guests a mobile spa service (please enquire from our reservation/reception area). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing