We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Lodge(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
252
157
35
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
157
35
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine estatechampagne roomguest housebridal suitevineyard roomdouble showerminute drivestellenbosch areacape townclose proximitylovely roomamazing breakfastclean roomslovely settingcomfortable bedpleasant stayexcellent stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We really regretted we had only planned one night there.
Lovane is a very small, but the owners are lovely, and the location is just amazing. The estate and the hotel are very new, but the wine is really good (we had a private wine tasting with the very nice owner). They actually pick the grapes by hand... If you tell them in advance, they probably prepare dinner for you, but we ate at a restaurant nearby which was recommended to us by the owner and was pretty good.
The rooms were very new and modern, with very comfortable beds and an amazing view overlooking the vineyards. They prepared a great breakfast for us which was probably the best breakfast of our trip along the Cape.
Highly recommended!

PS: At least in our room there was a safe to store your valuables.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGirlFromGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

we had a wonderful stay of 3 days during Mar this year, celebrating my 30th birthday.
THE DOWNSIDE:
after we left the boutique wine estate, me and my partner realised we had been stolen a total of 500 USD and 50GBP from within its premises.
(we suspected that the theft was from housekeeping department; we locked our room door at all times, but left our bags unlocked.as we did not request for any cleaning of our room. So we were surprised to find that our room was tidied up when we came back.still we thought nothing of it as the place was very relaxing AND disarming (there are only 9 rooms in total) thus we did not expect any theft in such a tiny establishment.
we wrote to inform the owners about this matter, but were replied that they trusted their staff. period.
there is no doubt that our money was stolen at lovane wine estate, and we are greatly disappointed for their poor response to the matter. (especially when there is internal theft within such a small compound.)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fernefong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papsak, Owner at Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2010

Dear Readers,
We were informed about the theft by the guest when they arrived back home. We take these matters very seriously. You have to take in account though that there is not much that can be done long after a suspected theft. We do however clean all rooms as a standard service to all our guests and don’t have this problem generally. We were at no stage requested not to service the room as the guest indicates in the review. We are in the position now to report that we have identified the thief and needless to say the person is no longer in our employ. Although we don’t deny the loss the guest suffered, we did point out to them that the room is equipped with a safe and that it would be best to keep valuables in the room. We hope that you will be able to read all in context. Regards Philip Gous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed in a luxury room at Lovane and it was absolutely amazing. The bathroom was out of this world with a double shower and beautiful free standing tub. Perfect end to our stay in South Africa. It was only a 5 minute drive into Stellenbosch and only 30 minutes to the airport. We ate at the Big Easy in town which was really very good- elegant decor with simple comfort food.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Lovely guest house, beautiful vineyard views and great location just beside Stellenbosch. Nice bedrooms with a modern touch and every room with balcony or terrace. The breakfast is fantastic and you can have it on the terrace with a view over the vineyard...very nice and relaxing. The owners and staff are very kind and welcoming. Absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Friendly owners, modern amenities,amazing bathroom and great breakfast.....
But beware of internal theft. We only discovered our~ 600USD stolen from our suitcases upon our home coming. Monitor your items of value with you always!!!!!!!! (INFORM PREMISES NOT TO CLEAN YOUR ROOM UNLESS REQUESTED) PATRONISE AT YOUR OWN RISK! We work for an International airline and have visited most major cities around the world, nothing of such has ever occurred. Lest we expect matters of such happening in this small family run operation. It totally tarnished the touristic image of stellenbosch;to our great disgust! >>>>WE ARE APPALLED BY SUCH BOLDNESS>>>>>

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigfatrat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papsak, Owner at Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2010

Dear Readers,
We were informed about the theft by the guest when they arrived back home. We take these matters very seriously. You have to take in account though that there is not much that can be done long after a suspected theft. We do however clean all rooms as a standard service to all our guests and don’t have this problem generally. We were at no stage requested not to service the room as the guest indicates in the review. We are in the position now to report that we have identified the thief and needless to say the person is no longer in our employ. Although we don’t deny the loss the guest suffered, we did point out to them that the room is equipped with a safe and that it would be best to keep valuables in the room. We hope that you will be able to read all in context. Regards Philip Gous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews