We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Lodge(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
252
157
35
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
157
35
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine estatechampagne roomguest housebridal suitevineyard roomdouble showerminute drivestellenbosch areacape townclose proximitylovely roomamazing breakfastclean roomslovely settingcomfortable bedpleasant stayexcellent stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We stayed for 4 nights here and it was wonderful relaxation, set in it's own vinyards the views from our room were spectacular. The room was stunning especially the bathroom. The owners were wonderfully hospitable and helpful to us, and the breakfasts really tasty. The location is great and many vinyards and wineries nearby, and only a 10 minute drive from Stellenbosch. Highly recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catwoman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Owners couldnt do enough to help us/make us feel welcome.

Rooms nice - bathrooms were real luxury. All very clean.

Free wine tasting and tour from the winemaker himself (owner). Far better than the Spier wine tour... and free!

We went in their autumn so there werent too many guests - we asked to eat there one night and they got their chef to come in and cook some amazing food just for us. Excellent service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0hnR__10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

My husband & I spent three fabulous nights in the Stellenbosch area during our trip to South Africa in August. A car is a must in order to reach Lovane, and also to explore the stunning Stellenbosch area.

It is located about 5km from the town itself, surrounded by beautiful mountains & wine estates. We checked in & were shown to our gorgeous room, located outside up a wooden staircase. We had booked a superior/ luxury suite & we were thrilled with the room we were shown to. The bathroom was particularly impressive with a huge free-standing bathtub & full-sized organic Lovane toiletries.

Breakfast every morning was just fabulous, cooked to order by the owners' son who made every effort to ensure that everything was just right. The buffet was also lovely, & we loved the dog that always wandered in & around checking out all the guests!

Gail, one of the owners, made a great effort to book & recommend restaurants for us, & even rang them up to enquire about vegetarian food for me.

On our final morning, we were given a tour of the wine cellar area by the owners, who clearly took huge pride in their wine & lovely guesthouse.

All in all, we were thrilled with our stay at Lovane. It was the perfect base for our memorable three days in Stellenbosch, & if we are ever lucky enough to return to South Africa, we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_A_Fitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We really regretted we had only planned one night there.
Lovane is a very small, but the owners are lovely, and the location is just amazing. The estate and the hotel are very new, but the wine is really good (we had a private wine tasting with the very nice owner). They actually pick the grapes by hand... If you tell them in advance, they probably prepare dinner for you, but we ate at a restaurant nearby which was recommended to us by the owner and was pretty good.
The rooms were very new and modern, with very comfortable beds and an amazing view overlooking the vineyards. They prepared a great breakfast for us which was probably the best breakfast of our trip along the Cape.
Highly recommended!

PS: At least in our room there was a safe to store your valuables.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGirlFromGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

we had a wonderful stay of 3 days during Mar this year, celebrating my 30th birthday.
THE DOWNSIDE:
after we left the boutique wine estate, me and my partner realised we had been stolen a total of 500 USD and 50GBP from within its premises.
(we suspected that the theft was from housekeeping department; we locked our room door at all times, but left our bags unlocked.as we did not request for any cleaning of our room. So we were surprised to find that our room was tidied up when we came back.still we thought nothing of it as the place was very relaxing AND disarming (there are only 9 rooms in total) thus we did not expect any theft in such a tiny establishment.
we wrote to inform the owners about this matter, but were replied that they trusted their staff. period.
there is no doubt that our money was stolen at lovane wine estate, and we are greatly disappointed for their poor response to the matter. (especially when there is internal theft within such a small compound.)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fernefong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papsak, Owner at Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2010

Dear Readers,
We were informed about the theft by the guest when they arrived back home. We take these matters very seriously. You have to take in account though that there is not much that can be done long after a suspected theft. We do however clean all rooms as a standard service to all our guests and don’t have this problem generally. We were at no stage requested not to service the room as the guest indicates in the review. We are in the position now to report that we have identified the thief and needless to say the person is no longer in our employ. Although we don’t deny the loss the guest suffered, we did point out to them that the room is equipped with a safe and that it would be best to keep valuables in the room. We hope that you will be able to read all in context. Regards Philip Gous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews