We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, elegant guesthouse walking distance from the centre of town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middedorp Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Middedorp Manor
Ranked #22 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, elegant guesthouse walking distance from the centre of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Middedorp is a beautiful converted 100-year old house, with huge, beautifully decorated rooms- like you are staying in a style magazine. Really friendly welcome and service - nothing is too much trouble. It's 2 minutes walk into the centre of Stellenbosch to all the shops and restaurants, but the hotel felt very quiet and secluded. If you are planning a trip to Stellenbosch and want a lovely, luxurious place to stay - this is it, don't hesitate. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S_and_T__LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    51
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
154
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

What a fabulous b&b. This is the height of luxury, fantastic rooms, lovely gardens and pool area, fabulous breakfasts and excellent service. We recently stayed for two nights and it definitely could have been longer, we are three couples travelling together and we all loved Middedorp. Annemien is a wonderful host and her staff are very helpful. Middedorp is in a great position within walking distance of the centre of Stellenbosch but on a quiet road. Just a pity we couldn't have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can, they are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueKYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Absolutely STUNNING boutique guesthouse, in a perfectly central location for exploring Stellenbosch. We stayed in Room one, a Deluxe Suite, which was hugely spacious with an incredible bathroom! The decor has been beautifully thought out, and the bed was so comfy we struggled to leave the room! Annemien provided great service throughout, and nothing was too much trouble. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

I highly recommend staying here. The house is stunning. the interiors are sophisticated and stylish interiors with some amazing artwork. Yet it manages to feel homely and relaxed. The loaction is perfect too being just a few minutes stroll from the fabulous bars, bistros, boutiques and galleries yet tranquil.

We stayed in the room at the front and enjoyed pre-dinner G'n'Ts from the honesty bar on the balcony. The bathroom was very luxurious too with a lovely free-standing bath. Huge comfortable bed, lovely seating area and desk and great guide to local bistros in the room.

The pool is small but beautiful and so tranquil. A lovely spot to spend a few hours in teh afternoon.

Sadly, the owner was not about due to a family berevment but her son and daughter were charming and exceptionally helpful.

A great find and I hope to return one day, maybe with my little girls as I understand they are going to be adding a large suite at the rear near the pool later this year.

One thing, we drive past a few times as we couldn't see a sign outside.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marbellanewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

This place was fantastic - it dificult to choose what to harp about - the great manor or the lovely host - Annemien.

She has painstakingly put this place together in the last one year - the amazing white based design/ furniture/ fitting really give it a regal/ holiday home kind of feel - its also actually feels like a home instead of a hotel/ B&B. Its a great combination of contemporary with classic.

After the B&B we stayed at in Capetown this seems really luxurious - and we wern't even staying in one of the suites.

After you take in the decor its the little things that make the difference.

1. Small note telling you what the expected weather will be the next day
2. Recommending a restaurant and doing the booking (seeing the other reviews it looks like we were not the only one to get special treatment:)
3. Spending time to recommend wineries AND a convenient route with stops for our aggressive drive to Oudsthoorn the next day
4. Honesty bar that had a bottle of whisky - probably the only peg of whisky I had during my trip - it was all wine other than that:) (and at ZAR 18 it was great value!!)
5. Great breakfast WITH EGGS after the drab continental in Cape Town:)

Overall, she seemed to genuinely care

Only pity was that we spent just one night and could not really enjoy this place to the full extent.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zia_zaneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We just returned from our honeymoon in South Africa and spent our last two nights in Middedorp Manor. It is the most beautiful house I have ever had the privilege to stay in! I spent my time taking photographs of the house as it is just so tastefully decorated. We stayed in the suite at the front of the house which is divine, Annemien goes to a lot of trouble to include little extras such as a turn down service, a wonderful collection of books, journals, magazines and dvds and there are amazing fresh flower displays all over the house. It is just an oasis of calm from the minute you walk in the door of this 107 year old house. The pool/breakfast area is also very beautiful, so much thought went into every aspect of the design of this house. The house is within easy walking distance of Church street and we found it very safe walking around there. Annemien was very attentive and always made herself available for advice and recommendations.

If you are visiting the wineries in Stellenbosch do not miss Delaire: it is out of this world! Combine spa, wine tasting and dinner for a day you will not forget in a hurry!

Will certainly be back to Middedorp the next time we travel to South Africa, it is simply divine.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsavvy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

So very comfortable and stylish, we could easily have stayed much longer than our three days had we not had accommodation booked in Cape Town. Lovely breakfasts and afternoon tea treats plus extremely friendly help / service from Annemien who kindly organised restaurant bookings for us. Nothing was too much trouble; we would certainly recommend Middedorp and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsyfitzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
0.5 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#11 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middedorp Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middedorp Manor

Property: Middedorp Manor
Address: 16 Van Riebeeck Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middedorp Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Middedorp Manor is a luxury boutique guesthouse in historic Stellenbosch that offers discerning travelers an unforgettable experience in a distinguished environment. Set in a landscaped garden, our 100-year old Victorian house has 6 elegant guest suites, a library, meeting room and an outdoor terrace that overlooks the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Middedorp Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing