We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in every mannner”
Review of Middedorp Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Middedorp Manor
Ranked #26 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Outstanding quality of accommodation and service with attention to detail. Elegant and timeless rooms, beautiful in-house products, over-sized kingsize beds with high tread count linens, sony tv with dvd library (a great collection) and the list goes on. Congratulations on your achievement. Impressed!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Middedorp had all the elements -- nice room, attentive staff, and a tasty hot breakfast. They were very accommodating about storing our luggage at the end and organizing a car for us to go to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is such a romantic place to stay! The house itself is just beautiful and I wish I could live in a place like this.
The rooms are all fantastic, nice and spacious and finished very well. All very quiet, romantic and modern.
The staff is great and very welcoming. They know where to send you for wine tastings.
One very big benefit is that it's walking distance from the center of Stellenbosch, so you can walk to restaurants and shops.
We would definitely stay here again and advise others to do so! Just fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amnsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We started our Cape Town honeymoon with 3 days in Franschhoek, followed by a day in Stellenbosch at Middledorp then seven days in Sea Point and it was perfect. The staff at Middledorp we very firendly and helpful. The decor was very stylish and we had the best nights sleep in their sumptous (and huge) bed. The only negative was that we were there on Good Friday and the town was a little quiet compared to usual. The location was very handy, only a few minutes walk from Town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We were looking for the Protea TechnoPark Hotel, and turned into Stellenbosch on our way. Upon making a U-turn, we were approached by a very charming butler, who politely asked if we were the honeymoon couple he was awaiting.

We said no, but being tired and in need of a destination(not too keen on Protes Hotel) we enquired about Middedorp at which we were stopped. He suggested we take a look at an available room.

in no less than ten minutes we were unpacking, and felt like royalty. The house has a quaint homely, yet sophisticated charm, with the most astoundingly up-kept gardens.

We had a most lavish stay in the suite and are looking forward to many a return.

Thank you for the spontaneous relief of finding accommodation miles apart from what we were prepared for. The warm hospitality and good nature of Ben and John ! :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veruschka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Wonderful warm reception from Annemien, Chantel, and Maxwell. The house has been beautifully and lovingly restored and well decorated. The rooms are large and comfortable with en suite bathrooms. The house is located next to the Botanical Garden and is an easy walk into the center of this lively town - with many places to shop, eat, and drink! It is also a short drive to many vineyards. The breakfast at the house is to die for! We would definitely recommend Middedorp to everyone and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are large, equipped with an air conditioner, and have a beautiful en suite bathroom. Beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeraX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great location ... beautiful house! Very warm welcome. This is a grand house with a few rooms that has been restored... we were shown around and left to our own devices .. very relaxing. Stayed here for 2 nights.
Close walk to all the shops and restaurants... loved Stellenbosch .. some great places to eat and drink some wine!
We were in room 4 at the back .. it was a quiet room but the air conditioning unit was noisy. There was also a high window with no blind .. so we were woken early by bright sunlight .. so not as much sleep as would have liked.
Breakfast were served outside on the veranda overlooking the lovely garden. The is a swimming pool although we didn't get chance to use it.
A very warm and friendly stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ,,,,
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#44 of 113 in Stellenbosch
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Hoek Manor
De Hoek Manor
#39 of 113 in Stellenbosch
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roosenwijn Guest House
Roosenwijn Guest House
#11 of 113 in Stellenbosch
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middedorp Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middedorp Manor

Address: 16 Van Riebeeck Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £84 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middedorp Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Middedorp Manor is a luxury boutique guesthouse in historic Stellenbosch that offers discerning travelers an unforgettable experience in a distinguished environment. Set in a landscaped garden, our 100-year old Victorian house has 6 elegant guest suites, a library, meeting room and an outdoor terrace that overlooks the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middedorp Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing