We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winelands getaway for city sleekers!”
Review of Middedorp Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Middedorp Manor
Ranked #26 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winelands getaway for city sleekers!”
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We recently attended a wedding in the Cape Winelands and stayed at Middedorp Manor for the weekend. The perfect getaway and retreat for city sleekers! The stately manor has recently been renovated and now oodles luxury, comfort, style and ease of living. An added bonus is its central location, in the heart of Stellenbosch, from where we strolled to restaurants, shops and the river – we loved the old world charm! The service was perfect - professional but not intrusive - and the staff were friendly and helped arrange transport, bookings at restaurants, treatments, etc. This will definitely be on the list of returns for us!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    51
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
154
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2010

My husband an I recently stayed at this beautiful manor and had a very fantastic time. The atmosphere is very relaxing and the staff is superb.
The manor is very close to the hub of Stellenbosch and it was gloriously romantic to stroll the streets with my lover looking for interesting little shops and restaurants.
The staff was also very helpful as guides of the surrounding area and directed us to very interesting wine and olive farms.
Stellenbosch is cultural gem, but so is this restored manor and I would definately return for a splash in their pool and a drink on their verandah.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBerkshire09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTtrip
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We spent three nights at Middedorp Manor and we had an amazing time! The old Victorian house offers a warm/rich atmosphere and captures the true feel of Stellenbosch. Everything is close by from restaurants, coffee shops, bars, historic buildings and sights. There isn’t a more ideal location, and most things are in walking distance which also contributed to our stay in such a beautiful village.
Our time there wouldn’t have been the same without Middedorp’s exceptional staff, they were great, always friendly and prepared to go the extra mile. Thank you to Annemien and her team for a wonderful time! We hope to return there in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I stayed at Middedorp Manor after a 28 hours in transit from Canada and it was the perfect place to unwind. The manager was very helpful organizing delayed luggage
from the airport and soaking in the pool with a long , refreshing drink was the best.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOUISDEWIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Middedorp manor is situated in the ideal part of Stellenbosch. It is in walking distance of great restaurants and bars. The staff are extremely friendly and the rooms are enormous. They are still busy renovating some of the rooms, but the finished product looks promising.

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
#21 of 112 in Stellenbosch
526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonne Esperance Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middedorp Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middedorp Manor

Property: Middedorp Manor
Address: 16 Van Riebeeck Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middedorp Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Middedorp Manor is a luxury boutique guesthouse in historic Stellenbosch that offers discerning travelers an unforgettable experience in a distinguished environment. Set in a landscaped garden, our 100-year old Victorian house has 6 elegant guest suites, a library, meeting room and an outdoor terrace that overlooks the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Middedorp Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing