We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem; this is a chic, stylish & extremely comfortable guest house.”
Review of Middedorp Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Middedorp Manor
Ranked #27 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A real gem; this is a chic, stylish & extremely comfortable guest house.”
Reviewed 10 March 2010

What a find this newly- opened chic, luxurious guest house in central Stellenbosch is! The creative owner has restored this100 year old Victorian detached house and while retaining many attractive traditional features like high celings, he has ensured no modern comforts are sacrificed here (although we did suggest the inclusion of ipod docking stations and more shower gels!) For the eye, gentle hues of grey, beige and white abound, as do fresh fowers and orchids inside, with a lovely garden & attractive patio & pool outside, to ensure the serenity continues! After a most comfortable night's sleep in a huge delicious bed, an excellent breakfast was served the following morning on the patio. A very warm welcome and all of the above will ensure Middedorp's success, I am sure, and our speedy return! From katinkacapetown

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatinkaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    51
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
154
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed at this gem of a place earlier this year and can say with utmost confidence that it is one of the most well put together accommodations I've ever been to.

Perfectly situated in the heart of the winelands, the house is within walking distance of all the quaint spots Stellenbosch has to offer.

Personal touches makes the place even more memorable: Freshly squeezed lemonade by the pool, stylish in-room treats, awesome selection of DVD's to choose from and without question the best Pouched Eggs Hollandaise I've ever encountered.

All in all: a must for any sophisticated traveler!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOLINEWIMBELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Middedorp Manor has everything the discerning traveller could possibly ask for. It's situated in the heart of town (and within walking distance from the best restaurants, bars and shops), but once you enter the stylish establishment, you'll be comforted by the peaceful serenity of your surroundings. There's a charming, old world air about the stately manor with its verandas and beautiful garden, but the interior is crisp, clean, elegant and incredibly stylish. You'll feel right at home - there are treats in the bedrooms, a large DVD collection to choose from and you'll be sipping home made lemonade by the pool in no time. And the poached eggs hollandaise for breakfast are the best I've ever had! You'll enjoy staying at Middedorp Manor so much that you probably won't even feel like leaving the premises to explore the rest of twon...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveller054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We recently attended a wedding in the Cape Winelands and stayed at Middedorp Manor for the weekend. The perfect getaway and retreat for city sleekers! The stately manor has recently been renovated and now oodles luxury, comfort, style and ease of living. An added bonus is its central location, in the heart of Stellenbosch, from where we strolled to restaurants, shops and the river – we loved the old world charm! The service was perfect - professional but not intrusive - and the staff were friendly and helped arrange transport, bookings at restaurants, treatments, etc. This will definitely be on the list of returns for us!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2010

My husband an I recently stayed at this beautiful manor and had a very fantastic time. The atmosphere is very relaxing and the staff is superb.
The manor is very close to the hub of Stellenbosch and it was gloriously romantic to stroll the streets with my lover looking for interesting little shops and restaurants.
The staff was also very helpful as guides of the surrounding area and directed us to very interesting wine and olive farms.
Stellenbosch is cultural gem, but so is this restored manor and I would definately return for a splash in their pool and a drink on their verandah.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBerkshire09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTtrip
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We spent three nights at Middedorp Manor and we had an amazing time! The old Victorian house offers a warm/rich atmosphere and captures the true feel of Stellenbosch. Everything is close by from restaurants, coffee shops, bars, historic buildings and sights. There isn’t a more ideal location, and most things are in walking distance which also contributed to our stay in such a beautiful village.
Our time there wouldn’t have been the same without Middedorp’s exceptional staff, they were great, always friendly and prepared to go the extra mile. Thank you to Annemien and her team for a wonderful time! We hope to return there in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I stayed at Middedorp Manor after a 28 hours in transit from Canada and it was the perfect place to unwind. The manager was very helpful organizing delayed luggage
from the airport and soaking in the pool with a long , refreshing drink was the best.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOUISDEWIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.5 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#10 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#9 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roosenwijn Guest House
Roosenwijn Guest House
#11 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bonne Esperance Studio Apartments
0.1 mi away
Caledon Villa
Caledon Villa
#26 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twice Central
Twice Central
#15 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middedorp Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middedorp Manor

Property: Middedorp Manor
Address: 16 Van Riebeeck Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middedorp Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Middedorp Manor is a luxury boutique guesthouse in historic Stellenbosch that offers discerning travelers an unforgettable experience in a distinguished environment. Set in a landscaped garden, our 100-year old Victorian house has 6 elegant guest suites, a library, meeting room and an outdoor terrace that overlooks the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Middedorp Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing