We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House
Ranked #3 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Most enjoyable two night stay I have had in a hotel for a long time. The rooms and all guest areas are really well furnished, well maintained and very comfortable. Each room is different and I would have been happy to stay in any of them. Each has it's own unique decor and all have views into the Stellenbosch mountains and winelands. Quiet and peaceful, assuring you of a comfortable peaceful sleep. Excellent breakfast and great service from everyone. Thank you Michel and staff.

Room Tip: I think mine was called the Copper Trumpet. Located upstairs with a great view out into the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This boutique hotel is one of the best in the Stellenbosch area. The location is good, accommodation excellent, service is excellent! The Wild Mushroom is close to Stellenbosch central business are. Thank you Michel and staff for a wonderful stay.




  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Junita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Guesthouse has wonderful individual rooms and a great atmosphere. The service was excellent an extremly friendly. Everything was prepared what guest could like. The breakfast was the greatest I ever had!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Uta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a great stay at the Wild Mushroom recently. Our room was spacious, and had all the extra's one would expect. The under floor heating was a well appreciated comfort due to the wet weather. The hotel is well positioned to explore the winelands in the area, and close enough to spend time in Stellenbosch itself - stop in at Stellenbosch Hills Winery down the road - great wines and good value. The breakfast offered was hearty and filling. All in all a great stay, and I can recommend this boutique hotel, which feels more like a home than an hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_SouthAfrica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here to celebrate some friends anniversary. What a great pleasant experience. All the luxury extras included. I would really recommend this place. Underfloor heating, hot water bottles, bath Salts, fruit in the room, mountain views... What more could you ask for ! Thanks to the host. Great getaway. .

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Stewart_Stoffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a lovely stay at the wild mushroom, the service was great, the complimentary sherry was better and the heated floors were the best (especially for winter!) I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for the woderful weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chantelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

From the moment i stopped i was treated with such friendlyness and passion. Michelle the manager could not do enough. Fresh flowers in my room with fresh fruit. Asked for Ground coffee and hot milk with early morning tea and i even got a freshly baked muffin before breakfast. delivered to my room. Very clean and tidy allover. The breakfast was not just bacon and eggs, but with a Swiss touch. Home away from home.

Room Tip: all the suites are very beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.5 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,959 reviews
4.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#2 of 115 in Stellenbosch
255 reviews
3.6 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#4 of 115 in Stellenbosch
454 reviews
3.7 mi away
Twice Central
Twice Central
#1 of 115 in Stellenbosch
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House

Address: 39 Digteby Estate, Vlottenburg Road, Stellenbosch 7612, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £114 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Digteby Estate in Vlottenburg, a residential area in Stellenbosch, a passion for classic luxury with a contemporary flavour is fused with a unique winelands location. The prizewinning architect Hein Visser restored the old manor house brilliantly. The initial design and dimensions of the building were retained and the original walls, roof beams, door-frames, sash windows and solid kiaat doors revive a bygone era. In addition, the spacious farm house with its typical elements from the late Herbert Baker era gained a few magnificent rooms in the large roof area. There are seven en suite bedrooms in this double-story Luxury Country House. Each window offers an unobstructed view of the blue Boland Mountains. A stay in the Wild Mushroom, a uniquely South African guest house, is a visual delight and sensory experience in an exclusive, private environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing