We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Country House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leoben, Austria
1 review
“Luxury Country House”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I are travelling all over the world and know many different hotels. The Wild Mushroom was one of the best accommodations we ever had. The landscape around Stellenbosch is great and the hotel is in a prime location. The service is perfect, could not be better. At our next trip to the cape province we will stay again in the Wild Mushroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Franz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    57
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
247
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is an outstanding venue to stay at - the manager Michel was extremely welcoming and professional. He is enthusiastic about the hotel and this shines through. Our room looked out across the pool and to the distant mountains, everything you could want had been provided. The ambiance of the hotel is luxury but friendly. We felt very secure. Breakfast was beautifully presented, real attention to detail about how the food looked, and how it tasted (which was fantastic).
The only thing that could be improved is to have some catering on site for the evenings - the location is out of town and although we had a car it might have been nice to have been able to eat in the hotel if the weather had not bee good. A small boutique hotel with an intimate dining room as well would be perfection.
We will be back as soon as time permits. Thank you Michel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Wild Mushroom is a wonderful boutique hotel just outside Stellenbosch. Michel made us very welcome, was a mine of information and gave us lots of help regarding places to visit and made restaurant bookings for us. He's obviously in the right job! His enthusiastic attitude permeates through to the staff in general who are polite, efficient and friendly.

Suites are named and decorated after fungi. We had the Deliciosus suite which was beautifully decorated in shades of green with accents of orange - just like the fungi in the wild. The suite was very clean, attractive and well maintained every day. Very comfortable king-sized bed and extremely good sized bathroom with roll top bath and enormous rain shower. Lovely!

The public lounge areas are very attractively decorated and intimate with an honesty bar providing all kind of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks. On the outside terrace, comfy sofas and chairs are plentiful plus lovely grounds with roses, views and a swimming pool area. Fresh flowers from the garden adorn the public areas, dining tables and suites - a nice touch.

Breakfast is provided. Fruit juice and a tempting array of fruits, cold cheeses, meats are laid on each table prior to the option of having a cooked breakfast, the choice for which was excellent, although we have the impression Michel would quite happily fulfil off-menu orders if at all possible. Dinner is not provided but that is easily found in Stellenbosch itself or booked at a vineyard restaurant (Longridge is recommended for views, food and wine, ambience and service).

For the energetic, it's possible to have a run around the Dingteby estate itself and also outside the estate on the roadside which I found quite safe and a delight with such lovely views all around.

In summary, a great little hotel in a superb location with a host who is willing to go just that little bit further to make your stay as near to perfect as possible. Would certainly visit again should we be in the Stellenbosch area. Give it a try ... you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SavannahUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The manager, Mr. Michel was very warm and hospitable. Booked all our dinners and gave us advise on where to visit.

It was such a pleasure staying at The Wild Mushroom and i will defintely recommend it to anyone visiting Stellenbosch.

The price was also very good and i must say, i enjoyed the breakfast a lot.

Henry and Nomfundo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Most enjoyable two night stay I have had in a hotel for a long time. The rooms and all guest areas are really well furnished, well maintained and very comfortable. Each room is different and I would have been happy to stay in any of them. Each has it's own unique decor and all have views into the Stellenbosch mountains and winelands. Quiet and peaceful, assuring you of a comfortable peaceful sleep. Excellent breakfast and great service from everyone. Thank you Michel and staff.

Room Tip: I think mine was called the Copper Trumpet. Located upstairs with a great view out into the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This boutique hotel is one of the best in the Stellenbosch area. The location is good, accommodation excellent, service is excellent! The Wild Mushroom is close to Stellenbosch central business are. Thank you Michel and staff for a wonderful stay.




  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Junita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Guesthouse has wonderful individual rooms and a great atmosphere. The service was excellent an extremly friendly. Everything was prepared what guest could like. The breakfast was the greatest I ever had!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Uta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.5 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel

Property: The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
Address: 39 Digteby Estate | Vlottenburg Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing