We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I write this review whilst still at the Wild Mushroom. I can't tell you how much we are enjoying our stay. It's superb. Michel is welcoming, friendly, helpful, knowledgable and has gone literally out of his way to be of excellent service. The staff are super friendly and have these gorgeous cute smiles on their faces constantly. Location makes it perfect and the view from the pool over Stellenbosch is beautiful. To the owners, manager and staff. Thank you we have felt very much at home.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saffadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    57
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
244
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great place to stay while in the Winelands --- Wonderful views, great big room (the bed and shower are great) with wonderful furnishings. The staff is top notch. What more can one want. You will not be disappointed while staying here.


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nice little boutique hotel a few kilometers outside of Stellenbosch. The view from the pool terrace towards the Winelands was magnificent. Rooms very nicely furnished, very spacious, and well-appointed. Housekeeping did an excellent job cleaning and freshening up the rooms every day (almost too good!). Excellent breakfast, too. Finally, the pool and the pool area were lovely as well. I also don’t believe any accusation of the hotel being homophobic or anti-gay because the general was super friendly, accommodating, and helpful to me and my partner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cairorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leoben, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I are travelling all over the world and know many different hotels. The Wild Mushroom was one of the best accommodations we ever had. The landscape around Stellenbosch is great and the hotel is in a prime location. The service is perfect, could not be better. At our next trip to the cape province we will stay again in the Wild Mushroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Franz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is an outstanding venue to stay at - the manager Michel was extremely welcoming and professional. He is enthusiastic about the hotel and this shines through. Our room looked out across the pool and to the distant mountains, everything you could want had been provided. The ambiance of the hotel is luxury but friendly. We felt very secure. Breakfast was beautifully presented, real attention to detail about how the food looked, and how it tasted (which was fantastic).
The only thing that could be improved is to have some catering on site for the evenings - the location is out of town and although we had a car it might have been nice to have been able to eat in the hotel if the weather had not bee good. A small boutique hotel with an intimate dining room as well would be perfection.
We will be back as soon as time permits. Thank you Michel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Wild Mushroom is a wonderful boutique hotel just outside Stellenbosch. Michel made us very welcome, was a mine of information and gave us lots of help regarding places to visit and made restaurant bookings for us. He's obviously in the right job! His enthusiastic attitude permeates through to the staff in general who are polite, efficient and friendly.

Suites are named and decorated after fungi. We had the Deliciosus suite which was beautifully decorated in shades of green with accents of orange - just like the fungi in the wild. The suite was very clean, attractive and well maintained every day. Very comfortable king-sized bed and extremely good sized bathroom with roll top bath and enormous rain shower. Lovely!

The public lounge areas are very attractively decorated and intimate with an honesty bar providing all kind of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks. On the outside terrace, comfy sofas and chairs are plentiful plus lovely grounds with roses, views and a swimming pool area. Fresh flowers from the garden adorn the public areas, dining tables and suites - a nice touch.

Breakfast is provided. Fruit juice and a tempting array of fruits, cold cheeses, meats are laid on each table prior to the option of having a cooked breakfast, the choice for which was excellent, although we have the impression Michel would quite happily fulfil off-menu orders if at all possible. Dinner is not provided but that is easily found in Stellenbosch itself or booked at a vineyard restaurant (Longridge is recommended for views, food and wine, ambience and service).

For the energetic, it's possible to have a run around the Dingteby estate itself and also outside the estate on the roadside which I found quite safe and a delight with such lovely views all around.

In summary, a great little hotel in a superb location with a host who is willing to go just that little bit further to make your stay as near to perfect as possible. Would certainly visit again should we be in the Stellenbosch area. Give it a try ... you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SavannahUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The manager, Mr. Michel was very warm and hospitable. Booked all our dinners and gave us advise on where to visit.

It was such a pleasure staying at The Wild Mushroom and i will defintely recommend it to anyone visiting Stellenbosch.

The price was also very good and i must say, i enjoyed the breakfast a lot.

Henry and Nomfundo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.5 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel

Property: The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
Address: 39 Digteby Estate | Vlottenburg Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing