We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$90
View deal
Priceline
US$94
View deal
Agoda.com
US$81
View deal
eDreamsUS$90
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
405
78
13
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
405
78
13
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild mushrooms gated community honesty bar safe location delicious breakfast honeymoon suite wonderful stay lovely guesthouse short drive cape town beautiful location mountains wine uber accommodation establishment surroundings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Received a very warm and friendly welcome from Marc on arrival. He outlined a number of things to do in the area during our 2 day stay however relaxing at the hotel by the pool with the great views over the vineyards will take some beating.
The room and its location were excellent. The only meal served is breakfast and what a pleasure it was to partake of it. The Hotel and the surrounding area were a pleasure to visit.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. it is so important to us that every guests has a good time and is able to relax and enjoy themselves while staying at The Wild Mushroom, we are so happy you found the service friendly, the food enjoyable and the setting is beautiful we must agree. We hope to host you again on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

this hotel does not deserve the 5 stars ...poor location in a condomium without any charm, very dirty ( towels, swimming pool) ; very average breakfast...the worst hotel we have seen in south Africa, not to recommend...

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 71pascalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Good day there and thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that you have found your stay to be a disappointing one, for the one and a half days you spent with us. Your guests arrived to pick you up for lunch and you handed checked in as yet and we offered them refreshments and coffee complimentary, they didn't know where the restaurant is they were on the way to so we printed them a map and marked it off and had one ready for you as well, you failed to mention this. you booked the smallest room online and when you arrived and requested a bigger one, we upgraded you again without charged. It is a pity that you didn't mention to us that you found any of the pool towels to be dirty or to voice your displeasure with us in person. I find it difficult to understand how you have reviewed us as awful in contrast to other reviews with guests staying at the same time as yourself. We would gladly appreciate the opportunity to make it up to you. please feel free to contact us directly at any stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We had two nights at the Wild Mushroom prior to our flight back home to the UK. The hotel is located just outside of Stellenbosch on a quiet estate and is easy to get into the town itself. The hotel room we had was very comfortable with a good size en-suite bathroom. The breakfast was good quality with a selection of fruits and a cooked breakfast available. There is a nice swimming pool located with excellent views over the local country side.
Marc, the Manager, was most helpful and knowledgeable in providing lots of good recommendations for restaurants and places to visit re wineries, etc during our stay.
As we had an overnight flight to return home Marc kindly advised that after checking out of our room in the morning we could use the facilities of the hotel, e.g. the swimming pool and honesty bar during the day and have the use of a shower room to freshen up before departing to the airport in late afternoon. This was much appreciated.
If I was to return to Stellenbosch I would readily return to the Wild Mushroom and happy to recommend it to others.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. we are so happy you found your stay enjoyable and that the tips were handy. we enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The wild Mushroom is perfectly set in the Digteby Estate, close to Stellenbosch and well connected to the Baden Powell Drive, that takes you to the N2 motorway, but without the noise and hassle.
But essentially, it is a nice, truly boutique hotel, with beautiful rooms, beautiful views and a lovely garden where it is great to sit back and enjoy a glass of excellent wine from the honesty bar. The pool is well positioned, with a view on Simonsberg.
Breakfast is served in an elegant lounge area or outside, under the vine, beautifully presented by the Wild Mushroom staff, who will stop at nothing to have you enjoy your breakfast.
Marc, the manager, is a natural born hospitality professional and he will make sure you are feeling at home and will happily help with any inquiries or reservations needed.
And being a guide in nature, who could blame me for being wild about a hotel that hosts a breeding pair of Spotted Eagle Owls in the garden, enthusiastically pointed out to us by Mrs. Sim, owner of the hotel?

Room tip: We were in "Purpureum", located at the west side, on the first floor. It is a beautiful room.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. we are so thrilled that you enjoyed the comfort of convenience of The Wild Mushroom. It is beautifully located in being close enough to all the activities and attractions of Stellenbosch but still providing the scenes of a country breakaway. we hope to host you again.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Every member of the staff is very friendly and helpful. General Manager Marc Lorenz will do his utmost to help you (providing information, booking at restaurants,...) Breakfast offers a large variety of nice food, including a delicious daily delight, fruit juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, freshly baked pastry,... and you can enjoy it outside and -very important- the place is vegetarian-friendly. The swimming pool is well-situated in the garden and offers a nice cooling-down after a warm day out. Our room was light with a large comfortable bed and a lovely rain-shower in the bathroom (next to a large bathtub which we didn't use). There is a small fridge and coffee/tea facilities in the room as well and the honesty bar downstairs offers a nice range of wines and liquors. The owners, Mr and Mrs Sim were enthusiastic to show us the eagle owl family living in the palm trees in the garden and together we watched them fly out at night. It was a lovely stay in the safe and secured Digteby Estate.

Room tip: We stayed at Purpureum and it was nice, large and very new. It was on the first floor and the stairs are easy to climb.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IngridGerlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We try and cater for every guests needs, diary and otherwise. it is so important to us to make each stay as fitted to each individuals needs as far as possible. we are truly happy your stay was enjoyable and memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews