We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beautiful South Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$56
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
326
62
9
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
62
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild mushroomsboutique hotelgated communityhonesty barsecure estateunderfloor heatingensuite bathroomgeneral managerdelicious breakfastbeautiful hotelattention to detailawesome staystellenbosch mountainsmemorable staypool areafresh fruitvisiting stellenbosch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This is a amazing 5 star guest house in stellenbosch with exotic edible wild mushroom cuisines. This South African boutique hotel offers a great experience in accommodation and amzing food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

On a Monday night in February, when many other restaurants in Stellenbosch were closed, our guest house owner recommended having dinner at the Wild Mushroom. It was close by - so much so instead of giving us directions he pointed at the two tall palm trees in the Wild Mushroom garden. We dumped our bags in our guest house room and then made our way to the Wild Mushroom.

Arriving at the Wild Mushroom, still in shorts I was a little concerned to see sign showing 5 stars, a 5 start restaurant in shorts - surely not! Our minds were put at rest as we welcomed to the Wild Mushroom by the Chef Tiann wearing bright yellow Crocs.

The dining room only has about 6 tables and seemed to mainly cater for those staying in the fantastic rooms at the Wild Mushroom, do not be put off however if you are not staying there as I do not think that we have had as genuinely a warm welcome in any restaurant ever.

The meal was commenced with fresh homemade bread and also an excellent wine from the extensive wine list.

The meal was a set menu of 3 courses for R250. There was a choice of 3 options for each course.

The starter of small beef cubes, in soy sauce with potato croquettes and courgette ribbons was exceptional, followed by Crispy Skin Duck breast and a delightful dessert of chocolate pavlova stack. My wife had 3 alternate dishes and was equally impressed.

Between each course the Chef Tiann came to the table to establish what we thought of the food and he gave us some very interesting insights into his food.

Both the presentation and the taste of the food were superb -the service was incredibly friendly and suitably attentive.

At the end of the meal Tiann very proudly showed us a couple of the bedrooms in their Guest house. The bedrooms, all named after mushrooms are decorated to reflect the colours and characteristics of that mushroom, they are very well appointed and are sumptuously luxurious. The grounds of the Guest House are stunning with a discreet swimming pool for guests.

We will very happily return to the Wild Mushroom and will next time stay at their Guesthouse.

A trip to South Africa can be justified by just spending a couple of nights at the Wild Mushroom - it really is that good. Tiann keep up the good work - don't let me down now that we have recommended you!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Luxury Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews